That time I got threatened with an FBI "inteview." For PHOTOGRAPHY!

in #photography7 years ago

Greetings, fellow Steemians!

While working as a photographer at a national photography chain (will go unnamed), I was frequently sent up to a studio in Woodbury. The staff (all of them) had quit and my two colleagues and I found ourselves staffing two studios. Needless to say, it was incredibly stressful and a long commute!

On the way back, the sky color was amazing and I decided to stop and take some photos at the refinery. The smoke was interesting and the stacks and lights made the composition more interesting. I pulled off the highway and headed down a county road, finding a great spot and got out.

McMillanMEOS_6072.jpg

After snapping a dozen or so shots off, a truck pulled up behind me and a uniformed guard jumped out to begin interrogating me! I was still on a public road, not on private property! They told me I could delete the images and they would go away but, if I refused, I may be interrogated by the FBI. Knowing my rights and having had several FBI background checks in the past, I opted for the latter!

To my disappointment, the FBI never did come and interview me. I guess they realized that terrorists don't take wide-angle shots of refineries from public roadsides?

McMillanMEOS_6076.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you enjoyed my images and context! If so, you may also like my other recent posts:

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

Sort:  

Congrats @fotosdenada. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :). Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-27th-june-2017-2017627t12538205z

Excellent photos and important legal lesson @fotosdenada. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Thanks, With a liked photo would be great!

I had a similar thing happen to be too. I was shooting a power plant from across the river. All of a sudden I was surrounded by police. They detained me for 3 hours. I was shooting film and I refused to give it to them. They finally released me. 😊

Yeah, people think photography is easy! I used to have a card with the "Photographers Rights" on it. Probably need to find a new one.

Three hours, eh? Ouch. And film! I miss that curly plasticy crap sometimes! What kind of lens were you using? I swear they just do that crap because they're bored and it makes them feel important.

I work in such plants and taking pictures in a big nono, it's a security threat and they view it as a potential for sabotage. Check google earth, they can't even post anything but a big blur square. At least it used to be. So yes it would be common that somebody would question you and your intentions.

I suppose you can't be too careful these days, but it seems that security and liberty are frequently at odds with one another. Thanks for the feedback :-)

yes definitely at odds with each other. it's just going to get worse. Trust me there is good reason for t i just can't really say it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $30.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This is the second time that I've been the recipient of this most illustrious award! Thank you!

Muy interesante historia alguna vez fotografiando sitios arqueologicos me han negado el uso del tripie, un argumento valido por el permiso pero sin algo de sentido, si se analisa mas a detalle.

a little suspicious @fotodenada , maybe he got paid more fore it. continue to work don't be afraid. freedom belongs to us.

I just liked the light and smoke contest, but wasn't going to delete the images on principle.

What an arrogance of pull people out of the street and demand them to delete their photos. I don't know in what country you live, but you were most likely totally in your right to refuse, unless you live in North Korea.

I am happy you did not delete the photo. Good crop btw.

Thanks. The second is actually a recomposition and only slightly cropped, because 2x3 format seems awkward in portrait to me :)

nice photo... weldone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44