A rare sight in Ronda

in #photography7 years ago

Greetings, fellow Steemians!

While living in Ronda, Málaga, in southern Spain several years ago, I got to witness some interesting things. Ronda under a heavy fog is a rare sight, indeed!

Foggy1

After a night of some pretty intense rainfall, I awoke to find the city engulfed in a dense fog. I snapped a few shots off on my way to find breakfast (café con leche y media mollete con aceite y tomate) and then head to work.

McMillanM20140131-EOS_9197.jpg

The first image and the next one are both shot near Ronda's New Bridge, which spans a deep gorge with a sizable waterfall below. When the wind and temperature is just right, air currents are forced upwards, causing fog to rise from the bottom of the gorge almost like steam. The next image shows the result!

Foggybridge

As you can see, the fog seems to billow up above the bridge. During rain storms, the air currents can become so intense that the rain will actually "fall" upward! The unwary, umbrella in hand, are in for a shock at times like that. A few steps onto the bridge, the updraft rips umbrellas from hands, inverts them, or simply destroys them. Disgusted, many visitors toss the mangled corpses of their umbrellas on the side of the street.

If there were a good vantage point from inside, where I could have taken images unseen, I might have taken an action shot of an umbrellacide. Instead, I bit my lip and tried not to laugh!

Thank you for checking out this post. I hope you found it interesting! If so, upvotes, resteems, and comments (especially constructive criticism!) are greatly appreciated!

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

Sort:  

I like your street photography! That fog reminds me of my time living in Santa Monica. May gray is a real thing, but man does it make the photos great.

Thanks! Fog isn't common in Ronda and it's one of my favorite conditions to shoot in. Maybe I should move to London lol

lol yes you probably should! Or San Diego. They get a lot of May Gray.

I am lucky enough to have even been to Ronda. Beautiful town! Beautiful pictures!

Thanks! I lived there for awhile and never wanted to leave!

Wow, trippy, is that fog or misty rain???

The first two are a dense fog that descended from the mountains. The last is when strange wind currents (push fog off the river up the cliff faces and over the New Bridge. Conditions have to be right for that to happen.

Really great job! So much souls in those photographs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37