Steemit Photo Challenge #13 -

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I took this photo about 65 feet (20 meters) underwater in Hawaii.

I am not actually a fan of the idea of Diving Instructors handling a wild creature like this, but it seemed that he had done it a number of times, he said the octopus was often in the same spot.

DSC_0222 - Copy

If you enjoyed this post then see the full set of pictures right here!
https://steemit.com/photography/@foodieandphoto/octopus-in-hawaii-scuba-diving-blog

For the photo-nerds out there. Shot with a Nikon D70, 60mm Macro in an Ikelite housing with external flash unit.

Sort:  

Love octopus and love this picture, if handled carefully there is no harm done. Thanks for sharing, wish I was there!

great colours for a deep shot underwater. I've tried before and all my photos come out green.

You need a powerful external flash unit to get the colors to come out correctly.

Yes, it´s really difficult to take such high quality photos underwater. You need good equipment. I love diving too, thanks for sharing this impression! Of course followed your blog for new diving updates.

@foodiephoto awesome shot!
I hope he didn't squirt ink on that guy ;)

At first he did pump out a couple of big clouds of ink all over the guys hand, but then he ran out of ink and the show began. I will do a full post and link you to it when it is done.

@foodiephoto I see - I was wondering whether the octopus did that..
so they actually run out of inks
that's new. Thank you for sharing that!
It's a freaking great shot worth getting the ink :)
A friendly tip; make a verification post like this one love, you'd get more readers.

Will do, thanks for the tip.

I know what your saying but wow amazing strange creatures. upvoted.

Certainly i wasn't thrilled when he did it, but i shot quite a few pictures with my SLR (will make a full post soon) and really the pictures are quite amazing and special... and at the end of the day he just went back between the same two rocks waiting for tomorrows show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47