FireTravels #1—Exciting Pictures from the Indian Open Of Surfing 2017 (2nd Edition)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The 2nd Indian Open of Surfing was a three-day surfing extravaganza that took place last weekend at Sasihithlu Beach located at the outskirts of my city of Mangalore.

It saw more than 120 participants from across India, USA, Australia, France and Maldives who arrived to take part in the championship!

The photogs are my friends and they are joining Steemit! Now that I’m blogging full-time on Steemit, a quick Steem->BTC->INR conversion is paying for these pictures to support their work. Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy it!


This 3 day, annually held national event is recognized by the International Surfing Association and promoted by Karnataka Tourism. It was
organized by our local administration in partnership with the country’s oldest surf-club based out of Mangalore, Mantra Surf Club. It was a colorful weekend with several activities such as beach volleyball, skateboarding, slack-lining, stand-up paddling and a mixed martial arts demo that held the crowd’s attention.


With my young friend, India's youngest surfer Aneesha Nayak


You will see Aneesha log on to Steemit soon!


Preview Video


Ishita Malaviya was featured in GoPro 5 launch video!

I managed to get there with my friends to take pictures! They also had a few cultural programmes early in the morning and incredible bands from across-India playing in the evening. I couldnt spend all three days but I’ve managed to get the event covered as best possible. There was also a food festival serving local delicacies.


Local ladies serving customers


Idli with Sambar


Samosa


Bhelpuri in a cup!


Day 1 Highlights

The event also marked the presence of Bollywood superstar Suneil Shetty who was the ambassador for the event and South-African cricketer Jhonty Rhodes-once considered one of the greatest fielders in the cricketing sport! He loves coming to Mangalore for surfing and has been coming for some years!



Day 2 Highlights

One of these days I’ll write about my city. If you are visiting India you must certainly visit during the surfing event if you love the sea and surfing the waves! Take note @heiditravels and @surfermarly.


@karthikrao with some of our friends



Day 3 Highlights

My friend Candida has signed up Steemit as @bikergirl. She's one of the most well known female motorcyclists in the country.


Phenomenal music that kept us grooving


@wandereronwheels, Candida Louis and the Wicked Rides gang with Jhonty Rhodes

These videos are from Indian Open of Surfing YT Channel

Surfing Results are here

One of my very dear friends @varunpinto has shot most of these incredible pictures. Rest of them are from Nitish Byndoor and @bikergirl Waiting for his account to get approved so he can do more on his own!

Hope you enjoyed these pictures from my town!

If you liked these pictures and enjoyed them leave a comment and help me further encourage my friends to sign up and use this platform to share their work. If you love surfing and take part in events tell me about experience!

Thanks to my bro @timsaid for the name, 'FireTravels' series of travel and photo blogs that I will be writing moving forward!


If you like my work, please share my posts and follow my blog to support me. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. This is My Plan for STEEMFEST 2017 + Slots Open for My Crew + Requesting Feedback!
  2. Steemit Veni, Vidi, Vici! SteemFest 2016—Together, WE made it happen! Thank you Steemians!
  3. This Fast & Furious Spoof from India is Hilarious and Sums Up Our Lives Here!
  4. LetsTalk—How Did You Find Your Passion in Life? This is How I fell in Love with Motorcycling!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Nice to see some surfing in India and great to have more Indian folks on Steemit!

Thank you so much! :D A lot more good stuff coming up from #India

Your posts become better and better! You got the spirit bro!
Nice to see you have so much fun and see the world.

That's fire, power! Can't wait to see you in Lissabon bro

Thank you! I have tons and tons more coming up! Thanks for your eternal support hehe! :D LIssssssssssssbon here we comeeee!

nice article :)

Nice photos dude! :D

Awesome – thanks for sharing the stoke. Followed and resteemed. We write about similar topics – follow us back for more adventure content.

Done! Followed! Thanks for the follow and share! Im happy to see more exciting content creators come on board to Steemit! :)

Awesome - great to connect.

Yyyyyyeeeesss. Great to see the videos!

We must go Surfing and @surfermarly will teach us in her #SteemSurf school at Lisbon! You are my surfing partner @sjennon along with @timsaid

Yes sounds great. I've always wanted to learn how to surf!

Me too! Especially since the Surfing scene in Mangalore, #India has taken off and my friends have been surfing there!

I'm so jealous. I don't even have a beach here. Or good weather hahah.

It started raining here today and the weather is great now! But yeah, Ive missed the beach a lot when I lived up north. You are welcome to visit me remember? ;)

Yes, let me just harvest some euros from my tree out in the garden!

Plant a new one for me too! :D

Very Cool Vids and Photos @firepower

Lets get STEEMIT to SPONSOR ===>>> "India's youngest surfer Aneesha Nayak"

Who knows some day it could happen too! :)

Very cool! A friend of mine recently helped organize a jetski race in India this past January/February. So great seeing surfing in India! Your photos are awesome too :)

Oh that's awesome! The powerboat racing was simply incredible. Thanks for checking the blog! I'm glad you liked it @heiditravels :)

Wow, you surely live an adventurous life, my friend. This is simply amazing :)

Haha! Thanks dude! It was great to finally get out and hang with some friends.

Great Pictures @firepower. Loved the videos too! :)

Thank you! :)

The event also marked the presence of Bollywood superstar Suneil Shetty who was the ambassador for the event and South-African cricketer Jhonty Rhodes-once considered one of the greatest fielders in the cricketing sport! He loves coming to Mangalore for surfing and has been coming for some years!

The moment I got really interested in your post.


My friend Candida is about to sign up on Steemit. She's one of the most well known female motorcyclists in the country.

She looks cute, when she joins, I will be the first follower.
You are doing great buddy. You are growing a lovely community here. Hope you keep it up for next few decades until the whole 1.25 billion indians join here.


Also loved all the pics. Will think about visiting manglore in a few months, seems like a great place.

Thanks dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44