Brown-headed Gulls in action at the frozen Pangong Tso, 14000+ ft

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Pictures of the Brown-headed Gulls in action at the Pangong Tso (lake) situated at 14,000 ft.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

Bird photography is often best left to DSLR bodies with a high quality telephoto lenses such as a 70-200mm or an 18-135mm at the very least for someone with a lower budget. Canon's EF 70-200mm F2.8 L IS USM is one of my personal favorites. I've had the opportunity to use one in the past. But if you like photography one cannot resist taking pictures with whatever gear one has!


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

Click images for hi-res versions!


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

However, since I own an entry level Canon 550D DSLR paired with an 18-55mm kit lens and a 50mm F1.8, I usually make do with these on my personal trips.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

These pictures as well as other pictures I've been sharing recently were taken with my 550D w/18-55.

Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

These birds are quite bold and they can be noisy when they are in a large colony. They are common to this high-altitude cold desert of Ladakh.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

It is fascinating to watch these birds in flight, landing and taking off at the melting Pangong Lake at close range.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

Click images for hi-res versions!


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

The mountains in the following shots holds one of the highest motorable passes on earth at over 18,500 ft.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh

Click images for hi-res versions!

It was a dream to visit this place and see these birds in action. It took me a lot of time to save up the money to make the trip here.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh


Some of these birds fly quite low to the ice.

From my home this place is over 3500 kms away and I've always taken the road to this place. One has to cross several high-passes and the last one that brings you here is at an altitude of 17,640 ft at it's summit.


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh


Brown-headed Gull, Pangong Tso, Ladakh


A brown-headed Gull prepares to take-off.

This is a close-up of the Brown-headed Gull shot by Mv Shreekumar

I couldn't get a good close up of a Gull in water. They would simply fly off as I went closer and I don't feed wild animals/birds so didn't offer them any food in order to get closer.


You can read more about the Brown-headed Gull here!

Traveling to these places despite being in my own country is very expensive. So, Please follow me and support my work on Steemit.


If you liked this then you may also like:

  1. Playtime at Zoji La in a Toyota Fortuner!
  2. 5 Reasons to see the Shanti Stupa, at Leh!
  3. View of the Himalayan city of Leh from 16500 ft
  4. Observations Fighting a Serial Plagiarist—True Story!
  5. Dummies Guide to Using Steemit.Chat Effectively Everyday!

Follow me: @firepower

Sort:  

Great shots. This one is my favourite:

I just love the composition on it and the beautiful colours and cloud pattern. It would also make a great wallpaper.

True that ! I don't even know what's my favourite . They are all madness and georgous !

Thank you so much @mammasitta! :D

I wish I could reward you with a few cents but I am still struggling here to collect some power 😜

Thank you! Coincidentally that's also my favorite picture from the shots I took of these birds.

Great photos! I use to see the Black-head gull in this area... never the brown one :) nice nice nice

Thanks! The brown one is common here.. Black not so much. This is a small gull actually but looks of decent size tho...

I see! Good post mate!

wow. thats some really good photography. I use mostly nikon d3000 and its not even mine (do not buy it lol)

Thanks! I've got a decent experience shooting with different camera bodies and lenses thanks to my previous work as an auto-journo.. But 550D is all I could afford. But i'll tell you this: paired with a good lens the 550D works great! I've used the D3000 but I def wouldn't buy it hehe. I've shot with a relatively newer Nikon belonging to a friend and i'll be posting some pics soon enough. :)

Wow wow wow !!!
I catch some sleep and write a nicer comment tomorrow because this is simply amazing !!!

Thank you so much! :D It's always great to see your comments and encouragement!

You have so many skills and talents

One life, living it up in my own way! \m/ :D

I don't like seagulls the most just because they are so rude - can you imagine - they once stole a raw herring from a man just when he was about to swallow it whole here (Dutch traditional food and way of eating it - not a fan though just cause its raw love it cooked ) but that one looks cute and different. The seagulls here are quite a lot they make too much noise but I do enjoy watching them fly like crazies when someone feed them bread. They're plain white with a shade of light gray on the tip of their wings like this one.
I took that pic in Calpe Spain but our seagulls look like them, as big as they are and as noisy, too.

haha! that's quite a story! But i agree these seagulls that venture out into the sea are quite noisy and rude! The ones you see up in the Himalaya don't venture out into the sea. They kinda stick to the coast or within it usually afaik.

Very Beautiful Photography. I am also photographer, I am new on steemit, please visit my page.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31