The Terracotta Lantern Warriors

in #photography6 years ago

The terracotta lantern warriors is an art installation that has toured the UK and I was lucky enough to go see it on the opening night when it was on display in Edinburgh.

20140129-IMG_4937.jpg

The lanterns are constructed of wire frames with a delicate lantern paper over it. I know its delicate because I touched one and was promptly but politely asked (told in a stern voice) not to touch them. oops! A week later I went back and they had barriers around it. So you could no longer walk between them, I guess I wasn’t the only one tempted to poke and prod them.

20140129-IMG_4946.jpg

The lanterns are works of the artist Xia Nan and were inspired by the famous Terracotta Army figures uncovered in 1974 near the tomb of China’s first emperor.

20140129-IMG_4939.jpg

Each lantern warriors stand more than 6ft 7in tall. the lanterns bring together two key elements of Chinese art and culture, namely the compelling story of the Terracotta Army and the 2,000-year-old tradition of lantern-making.

20140129-IMG_4938.jpg



20140129-IMG_4969.jpg

This exhibit felt a bit eerie, like they’d come to life and start marching at any moment, which I guess is the point.

20140129-IMG_4947.jpg


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Wow this is a really nice display the artist Xia Nan as done a amazing job I see what you mean about them coming to life its so true,I can see what they have done here, its simple, smart and as an amazing effect, thanks for sharing @fiftysixnorth.

Thanks, Xia Nan really did do an incredible job. It was a very popular exhibit. Thanks for stopping by :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

WOW!!! I am so glad I saw this post thanks to @thealliance

These are so gorgeous. To think that they are made with such delicate materials is astounding. It looks like a beautiful kind of giant chessboard.
Lovely photos. Thank you so much for sharing!

Thank you :) I am glad you enjoyed these shots :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78