The Oculus building in all its weird splendor

in #photography5 years ago


20181010-IMG_8136.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Sorry about the repeated use of this shot for the cover image, I know I already showed you this shot (even though it is totally badass...) but I didn't want the cover image to give away the 'main event'. What am I talking about, well for non-new yorkers I am talking about what the oculus building looks like from the outside and how totally weird it is!


20181010-IMG_8102.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

It's totally my sort of thing.. this building is so unique and strange.. I do hope they use it one day as a set for some dystopian future sci fi movie. It totally fits for that kind of thing. Anyway.. here it is .. the outside of this strange but awesome building:


20181010-IMG_8104.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

The one thing that really does melt my brain and gives me a nervous twitch is how the sides of the building are not symmetrical.. really screws with my head.. but in a way that is part of what makes it interesting.. I keep wondering why they did that.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Ohhh, Boo! I voted too early. Your post just got me all fired up with this building!

The Oculus building, at the World Trade Center, if you look just right... you can actually see the Freedom Tower from the skylights. It is truly such an amazing architectural experience of a lifetime. It is unique and has been referred to as the whale's ribcage more than a million times. You captured it well and yes! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful pictures as seen through your eye and lens.

By the way, I do remember it being way over budget! There were so many complaints about that. But, hey!! It is so very cool!

Tip!

Aren't they always over budget lol! ;) the whale's ribcage? I can totally see that! I never noticed the freedom tower through the skylights, but then I was so distracted by everything else in there i never even thought to look. I wish I'd had more time to explore.
Thanks for commenting, you are a wealth of information! :)

It's always a pleasure! You post the coolest stuff!

Thanks so much :) I try! ;)

Don't worry! You are a huge success that way!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Can't believe those people are just passing by it without looking up to it's beauty!
I guess it's hard to appreciate something when it's always there, every day ;)

Yeah I guess they are just use to it lol! :)

Wow that's one interesting structure for sure. Be well

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00