Rare Polar Stratospheric Cloud Formation

in #photography6 years ago


20160202-IMG_2392 SMALL.jpeg
* Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!*

Polar Stratospheric Clouds, also known as Nacreous Clouds, are cloud formations that form in the lower stratosphere over polar regions when the sun is just below the horizon. The clouds are illuminated from below and often glow in vivid colours.

I don't live in the Polar regions and one morning in the winter I was treated to this sight. I have never seen it before and at the time thought it was quite interesting.. So I snapped a pic while eating my cornflakes and quickly uploaded it to the computer. Little did I realise it was a big deal. Every one was talking about it online, so I posted my shot as well. It turns out it was a very rare sight that is normally reserved for the polar winter .. in the polar region. The air has to hit -78℃ which it rarely does where I live.

However, on this occasion it did, and it was awesome.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 55.961433 lat -3.180855 long Rare Polar Stratospheric Cloud Formation d3scr)


Sort:  

Wow the view is looking really beautiful !

Thanks it was quite a stunning sight! :)

how charming the cinery is!

That is a special gift from the sky. Absolutely awesome.

It is, nature is so beautiful!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=rare-polar-stratospheric-cloud-formation


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Those colours of the clouds are stunning!! You captured it at the right time! :) How precious!

Thanks! Yes, I was very lucky. I have never seen them before or since i took this picture. A truly rare sight where I live :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

WOW, I have never seen anything like it, not even in a picture! Why are there no photographers chasing these shots FULL TIME?! Gorgeous.

I don't know .. they're pretty amazing. They reflect so much light that apparently they look like they are illuminated at night. That I would love to see!

Wow how amazing, I would love to see these!

It is really cool. If you want to see something like it you need to travel north. I was lucky as I am not normally far enough to the north to see this. Perhaps Iceland, Northern Canada or Northern Sweden are good bets :)

Oh right! Thank you, I would love to go to Iceland, atm the most North I can get is Scotland so I will give that a go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43