Planning fail - On the wrong flight

in #photography6 years ago


20140627-IMG_6239 copy.jpg

I am flying to London quite soon, to see family and celebrate my little nephew's birthday. Its a short trip basically we're there for one full day.. flying in the night before and leaving the following day after lunch. So as you do, I started looking through old shots of London I have to see what I should maybe shoot next. It's good to try something new and or different each time. It challenges you and keeps things interesting.

This shot was taken a few years ago when we flew into London to see my niece. That's the London eye down there on the thames. The Thames has an odd colour to it but that is mainly due to the polariser filter I was using when I took the shot.

One thing I immediately thought of was to shoot some more aerial shots of London as we come in to land... then I remembered.. we are flying to Stansted, not Heathrow. I'm usually pretty good at planning these sorts of things .. If you want to fly over the city and get some cool shots, you need to fly to Heathrow as the flight path takes you across the city. Stansted is an hour (45mins) by train north of the city. So you don't even get close. This is a major oversight on my part.. so no aerial photos on this trip .. in fact, it may turn into a photoless trip unless I can fit my camera in the bag (the presents take priority in my luggage of course!

So reading the title of this post you may have been expecting something a little more dramatic than just flying to a different airport at the same destination, but if you have a particular vision in mind for your photography then it can be a pretty big fail!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Beautiful photo @fiftysixnorth! I invite you to check out my latest post with a slideshow of photos to check out. #upvoted

Thanks, I'll take a look.

Near miss, let's say.

Yes, also an opportunity ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

@fiftysixnorth You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Thanks @transparencybot. I appreciate that.

You're very welcome.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50