Photographing the Eclipse? Don't MELT your Camera!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

I wrote a tutorial a few weeks ago about how to photograph the upcoming eclipse. In that tutorial I talked about the importance of using a solar filter and shared the filter I used. Check out my tutorial here.

As it happens Everything Photography on Youtube made a video that Peta Pixel has shared in a post to demonstrate the kind of damage that can be done to your camera if you don't protect it with a proper filter:

It only takes a matter of minutes to melt through the shutter and obliterate the sensor in your camera!

giphy.gif
ouch!

So be sure to get adequate protection for your camera! Get a solar filter! I used this one.



Sources
Peta Pixel Article
Everything Photography


My Solar Eclipse Tutorial:
https://steemit.com/photography/@fiftysixnorth/tutorial-how-to-photograph-a-solar-eclipse


The shots I got from the 2015 Eclipse

Full Sequence from 2015 - High Resolution version


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Wow I had no idea about this! Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure! :)

That clearly illustrates the damage very expressively :)

Yeah they're not screwing around in that video :) Its an expensive mistake to make!

let's hope their video pays off for the destroyed equipment :)

lol! I'm sure it will :) The camera body they destroyed was a cheaper model anyway, so it was probably not that bad for them!

oh my, that is painful to watch 😣

awful isn't it :) I'd be inconsolable if it happened to me!

I don't even want to think about it 😅

Wish we could view the eclipse form Cape Town!

Maybe one day you will! :) If not you can always use your steemit riches to travel somewhere where you can :) That's what I intend to do .. though it might take some time before that happens!

Very true! I don't think it will take all that long... Lets see how things go here on steemit!

Hopefully you are right and it won't. Just need to be patient and persevere :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46