On the Island of Batam in Indonesia

in #photography7 years ago


20180122-IMG_0887.jpg

I've just been on a trip to Indonesia. To the island of Batam to be exact. Its a small Island 45 minutes south of Singapore by boat.


Screen Shot 2018-02-03 at 15.53.06.png

My partner has family living out there so we decided to pay them a visit and take the opportunity to experience that side of the world. Its been over 25 years since I was last in Singapore or Indonesia so I was looking forward to the familiar sights and sounds of my teenage years. Very Nostalgic.


IMG_9234.JPG

The trips starts here in Scotland. The day before we are due to leave the weather turns and it starts to snow. Heavily.


IMG_9235.JPG

This was going to be a very stark contrast to our destination. By sunrise the city was covered in snow and my partner's family that was joining us on the trip were driving up from the countryside that was encased in snow. We worried they wouldn't make it into the city on time due to overnight traffic chaos.


IMG_9202.JPG

Luckily they made it in good time and we all took off together. We were treated to some nice snowy scenes as we took off. I was happy to be leaving the wintery cold behind.


IMG_9238.JPG

It was a 12 hour flight to Singapore and most of it was overnight. Sleeping is always a nightmare on planes but our arrival was in the late morning so we at least had a nice view coming in to land.


IMG_9233.JPG

It was a 45 minute ferry ride from Singapore to get to Batam. We went form Tanah Merah ferry terminal just south of the airport to Nongsa Point on Batam. It was dark by the time we got to the island so we went straight to the village where we were staying. We'd see more of it in the morning, but just now all you could see was dark.

However the following morning you could see where we ended up. We were staying in a village built in the middle of the jungle.


20180122-IMG_0882.jpg

I love the houses, they are a very typical Indonesian design I thought.


20180122-IMG_0881.jpg

The place is called Nongsa Village and is one of those communities where a few people live year round and the rest are owned by wealthy people who use them as holiday homes.


IMG_9351.JPG

There's even a lovely swimming pool but I am guessing we were there during the off season as no one except us used it. Of course there is a sensible reason no one used the pool, January is the monsoon season so for a large portion of the time we were there the weather was a bit like this:

I loved it though, it was very nostalgic for me and I loved listening to the lightning and thunder.. something you don't get much of in Scotland despite the vast amount of rain we get here.


IMG_9385.JPG

Aside from the pool and the houses the village was built along the coast so some of the houses are also beachfront properties.


IMG_9340.JPG

There's also a jetty that you can walk out to to enjoy some fishing or whatever else you might do on a jetty.


IMG_9310.JPG


20180122-IMG_0889.jpg

..and then there's the local wildlife which we didn't spot any of until the second week, but they like to sneak into your house if you have the doors open and food out.


20180127-IMG_0918.jpg

Monkeys! A lot of Monkeys. They're harmless, just a bit cheeky, unless you approach their young.. then they get fierce.


20180127-IMG_0911.jpg


20180127-IMG_0921.jpg

This was the view form our balcony:


IMG_9230.JPG

The village is part of a complex which encompasses two other resorts. The first is Nongsa Point Marina which has a series of chalets as well as hotel rooms. Its generally a place that Singaporeans go to for weekends away and to moor their yachts - lots of rich folk!


IMG_9419.JPG


IMG_9416.JPG

We went there a few times to sample the delights of the bar and pool. Although we had our own pool we decided we'd try out the other pools while we were at it and explore the grounds a little.


IMG_9427.JPG

The third resort/place in the area is called Turi Beach. Its similar in the idea of the marina but this one is more focused on an actual beach for jetskiing, snorkling etc and generally chillig out at the pool. This one is mainly just hotel rooms, no self catered chalets.


IMG_9347.JPG

The place had an infinity pool as well as a normal pool and a deeper pool on the other side (not pictured) for people to choose from.


IMG_9344.JPG

This place was more heavily focused on relaxation and vacation where the marina was more for boating and getting drunk.


IMG_9348.JPG

There was even a Spa where me and my lady tried out a couples massage. It was an hour long and somehow that time passed in what felt like 15 minutes. It was glorious and if I was irresponsible with my spending we would have been there every day!

There wasn't much to do or see here other than hang by the pool or the bar, but then this wasn't exactly a tourism holiday.. we came to see my partner's grandmother for her 90th birthday so it was more of a family reunion and we had other obligations than to explore. We did go to an old vietnamese refugee camp one day, which I will talk about in the next post. Later we went to Singapore for a few days as well which was much more eventful and will be covered in detail as well :)

For now, its good to be home and back online. Its funny how easily you begin to miss the steemit community when you cannot access it every day like I normally do!


!steemitworldmap 1.192108 lat 104.104818 long On the Island of Batam in Indonesia D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=on-the-island-of-batam-in-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're an Honorable Mention in our Daily Travel Digest!

oh wonderful :) thank you! x

That's an amazing collection from the trip. Well done.
Looks like it was a great place to wander with the camera?

Thanks! It is a pretty great place to wander with a camera, though the heat and humidity was causing me a lot of problems with my slr. The lens would often not communicate with the camera body. I honestly thought for a while my camera was breaking!

Wow what a contrast from Scotland weather to there

Such a beautiful place wish I was there

Oh yeah, a major contrast. We went from -5C to 35C. Unfortunately the house we stayed in didn't have air conditioning either (they were all broken from lack of use in the humidity) so it was tough to deal with. I did not sleep well the first few nights :)

That would have been a challenge to adjust to for sure without any AC

That would have been a challenge

i look forward to hearing how you get on with this challenge :)

it was.. by the time we left i was just so excited about staying in a hotel room with working AC!

I bet, I was never used to AC’s and staying in hot paces never bothered me,

But when my Wife came to join me first in Bosnia and then bringing them to NY with me in the middle of summer, her and her son were shocked I didnt have any AC or Fans in my apartment that was the first order of shopping lOL

Now I have got used to them and would need them in a situation like that

Funny you should say that, when I was younger and living in Indonesia I never used the AC either. I was totally acclimatised to the heat. I really struggled with the cold when I moved to Scotland from there... and now I would struggle without AC in a place like that. although I am gratified to know that I can readjust to it fairly quickly. I did feel far more at home out there than I have ever done here.

I personally would rather deal with Heat than cold

My years in Asia and the Middle East I adjusted well to the heat
But the cold as you get older is the worst for me

for me as well.. I prefer the heat.. its better for you as well, especially as you get older.

I know where I would choose between Scotland and here in winter

Haha me too! Though I would choose Singapore over batam, there's much more to do there :)

Very cool man

Good photography @fiftysixnorth.

Upvoted and followed you.

Thanks so much :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 3 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Wow I could do with some warmth like that. -30 C here this morning ...

ouch. I woke up to some snow and -1C this morning.. I miss Indo already! If I could send you some warmth in the post I would! :)

Thanks ! Appreciate the thought ! Snowstorm coming here tonight and 50cm forecast.

oh that sounds painful! wrap up warm! :)

This was awesome! We missed your posts and so happy to see you back! Stellar shots and I loved the rain there.

Looks like a peaceful time was to be had!

Have a wonderful Tuesdy!

Thanks so much :) It's good to be back though I miss the warmth of the place. It was indeed a peaceful time which was desperately needed! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80