Maldives Trip Day 3 - Reef Exploration

in #photography7 years ago


title-image.jpg

The first dive of the day is always an early one. So early that you still get a bit of sparkle of bioluminescence as you descend into the depths. Unfortunately they don't really come out on camera. We headed out to last night's dive site in hopes of spotting more sharks. This time though we spotted only one and it looked like more were following.


stingray on d1d3_1.2.1.jpg

But then a group of divers from another boat appeared and lumbered through the area the sharks were coming from. So the sharks turned tail and swam into the depths. With them gone we decided to explore the reef a bit more. We spotted a pretty big stingray not long after the sharks left.


reef d1d3_1.7.1.jpg

The reef also has plenty of colourful little fish, including everyone's favourite:


reef2 d1d3_1.8.1.jpg

Nemo! I mean.. The clown fish! I do love them, they are cute. They're like the kittens of the coral reef.. sea turtles are like the puppies.


IMG_8758.png

So we kind of failed in seeing more sharks which was a shame, but we still got to see some great marine life. No sea turtles yet either, but we will see what happens, its meant to be a busy day.. we have 4 dives planned for this day instead of two, but i'll talk about that in the next part. For now, here is the video of the dive:


Check out the previous posts in this series:
1.Maldives Trip - Day 1: The Epic Journey Begins!
2.Maldives Trip - Day 1: The Boat
3.Maldives Trip - Day 2 - Looking for Manta Rays
4.Maldives Trip - Day 2 - Shark Encounter


!steemitworldmap 4.256210 lat 72.991964 long Maldives Trip Day 3 - Reef Exploration D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Loving seeing this posts did diving many years ago but now with my lung issues it’s not an option for me so loving doing it through seeing your posts 😎

Thanks mate :) I'm really glad that you're getting something out of these posts :)

Indeed I am 👍😎👍

So today we're both on travel digest - but I'm on land! Great post again!

Awesome! I haven't checked the most recent digest. I'll have to go so that now :)

I really want to go to the Maldives! Loving your daily blogs. 💙

Thanks! So glad you're enjoying them :)

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 9 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

This is really great...hope u enjoying your trip to Maldives....@fiftysixnorth
It's been a while..can u check out my recent post

Thanks! I sure did :) I'd be happy to look at your posts :)

I am totally ok with the sharks in the depths and clown fish on the reefs :) I hope you will be posting some see turtles in your next post, they are so gracious when underwater :) And not scary at all, at least they were even curious in our case :)

Not on the next post, but I believe its the post after that where I feature a sea turtle :D You are right, they are very gracious under the water, and so very relaxed.. they are a personal favourite of mine.

Another great post! Cant wait to get to the Maldives. But in the meantime enjoying them through your eyes!

Thanks! You'll have a fabulous time when you go! It's probably one of the most relaxing places in the world! ;)

Just love the underwater pictures and video, really makes you feel like you were there 😆
And who doesn't love the clown fish, Nemo so cute. Amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33