Maldives Trip - Day 1: The Boat

in #photography7 years ago

I'm not sure I mentioned this before but the whole premise of this trip for my Dad and I was to go scuba diving, and since we'd never done a liveaboard and always wanted to we decided this was the ideal time to do that too. What is a liveaboard I don't here you ask.. well it is when you live.. aboard.. a ship for a few days and sail from dive site to dive site thus not wasting your precious diving time travelling from shore to site every day. It also allows you to cover a greater area of dive sites. The Maldives are perfect for this being a series of islands and atolls spanning several hundred square miles of the Indian Ocean.


title-image.jpg

Liveaboard boats can vary a great deal from tiny little ships with cramped living quarters with bunkbeds to palatial yachts with Jacuzzi's masseuses and a bar... our boat was on the more luxurious end of that particular spectrum. So for a first time liveaboard experience it was pretty damn amazing. I fear I may be setting myself up for disappointment with future liveaboards. But that's a problem for future me.


So, onwards with the tour of the boat! Lets start with our cabin:


20170925-IMG_0589.jpg


20170925-IMG_0590.jpg

Every cabin has its own bathroom, thought we also had a bathtub - however I would soon discover that there would be very little time for such indulgences! Our cabin was at the front of the boat, right behind the anchor which on some mornings became our alarm clock as anchor was being raised to get under way quite early. You've never heard an anchor until you've heard it waking you up at 5am and you can feel the hull next to you shaking from it.


20170925-IMG_0591.jpg

This is the hallway you are greeted by when you leave our cabin. You walk all the way down it to the end where there are some stairs that take you up to a reception area at the back (stern) of the boat.

20170926-IMG_0607.jpg

When you are seated there you can see this view into the boat that shows the stairs (behind the couch) you just came up and the canteen/bar beyond.


20170926-IMG_0606.jpg

Here's a view of the canteen/bar/dive briefing area:


20170926-IMG_0609.jpg

The second deck has another bar, a seating area and a jacuzzi, which we didn't end up using until the last night as we had such a busy schedule diving.


20170925-IMG_0592.jpg

The top of the ship is a sundeck which was great for naps in between dives and taking in the views as we sailed to each destination.

20170925-IMG_0593.jpg

But for the first day we were moored in a harbour where we begin and end the journey. We are surrounded by lots of different ships, many liveaboards like ours as well as industrial ships. I think the people on those ships probably also live on them.


20170925-IMG_0595.jpg


20171001-IMG_0728.jpg

That wasn't the only thing, every 15 minutes or so a sea plane would take off, no doubt transporting some lucky people to one of those fancy resorts with the huts built over the crystal clear waters of the atoll.


20171001-IMG_0734.jpg


20171001-IMG_0735.jpg


20171001-IMG_0736.jpg

So this was home for the next 7 days as we sailed the Maldivian seas. Pretty damn sweet.

!steemitworldmap 4.183206 lat 73.518632 long Maldives Trip - Day 1: The Boat D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Jezus Christ mate, those look awesome! Monstrosity airplane, now big ass luxurious boat to live on :) Cool
I was doing quite a bit scuba diving back in the day, got PADI Deppwater, Shipwreck licenses and shit but we did most of our diving much closer, in Egypt that also has one of the most beautiful diving spots in the world. Never had a chance to do liveboarding but would definitely be a nice experience, so looking for your next posts to see how it went for you :)

yeah it was quite a trip! not cheap either! it definitely was a trip of a lifetime! I've been diving in Egypt before too. Its a nice place to go but I found that if you can get into Saudi Arabia, the diving on that side of the red sea is much much better. The place is pristine, because so few people can get into the country to dive there. I was lucky, my dad was working there for a short time so we managed to go.
Liveaboarding is a unique experience and I do recommend it, though most liveaboards or not this fancy ;)

I never was a fan of luxury, sometimes of course it is nice to have, but i love that spartan life of style more, with little unnecessary cluttering stuff that gathers dust. But of course, for a treat i would gladly spend a week on that boat while liveboarding. I guess i have to wait for your next post, to see your diving spots. Do not keep me waiting :)

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Sweet vacation bro. 👍😎 be well

Thanks mate ;)

WOW that is a super cool and plush looking boat, would love to spend a week on there myself

oh it was! That boat was wonderful. I have no doubt you would have enjoyed it! :)

😎👍😎

Was going to look for you today but found you right off in daily #traveldigest lol! Another great post - I'm not a diver but I could just have lived on the ship and been happy! Looking forward to part 3...

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. I hope to have the next part up soon :)

Seriously.. Lol That boat was incredible inside, so much luxury and it must have been an awesome experience. And I love the plane.
Thank you for sharing, so cool to see.
🤗 cheers

Yeah it was pretty damn fancy. Most normal liveaboards are not that comfortable :)

No I believe that, never seen anything like that 😎 lol
I'm so happy that you got to do this amazing trip finally.
Cheers 🤗

That looks quite luxurious - like a mini cruise ship! how many passengers does it hold?

It was! It can hold about 24 passengers.

I bet you made some friends on that trip too then! :-)

Oh I did, some great people on that boat. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50