Maldives Trip Day 2 - Looking for Manta Rays

in #photography7 years ago


title-image-Manta-rays.jpg

Our first day at sea after departing the harbour initially took us to a dive site where we'd do two things. A check dive and visit a Manta Ray cleaning station. The check dive is just a dive, which we undertook in a very uninteresting place, to check you gear. Get everything setup and then get in the water to test that all your gear is working properly. Kind of a warm up dive. A good thing we did it too because the heel straps on my fins snapped just as I was putting them on to get in the water. Luckily the crew had a spare set of fins I could use for the dive. Later I borrowed some replacement straps from a fellow diver.


IMG_8723.JPG
A Resort Island near our dive site

The Manta Ray cleaning station was much more interesting. A cleaning station is an area in the reef with a decent current where little feeder fish live. The Mantas swim by and the little fish come up to give it a clean. The benefit to us is that you have an excellent chance of seeing a manta ray.

IMG_8722.png

It just takes a little patience. You swim to the cleaning station and then you hook into the reef with a reef hook. This is a metal hook with some line attached that ends in a clip that you can attach to yourself. You hook into a bit of dead reef or rock on the bottom, and then float in the current. The benefit of this is being able to stay in one place for a while without exerting yourself swimming in the current as well as not having to touch the reef (which kills it!) to steady yourself.

GPTempDownload_2.JPG

Sometimes your patience is rewarded. We saw several manta rays swim by and I even had one swim directly over my head. After a while other divers showed up and did what you shouldn't. To get the best view the swam right up to the top of the cleaning station (we stayed near the bottom out of the way). Because of their position the Mantas felt their space was invaded and so would no longer come to the cleaning station. That effectively ended our dive and we returned to the surface.


I put together a video of the dive so you can share in the gracefulness of the Mantas we saw swimming around. Excuse the quality of the video, I have never actually put one together before:

!steemitworldmap 4.278941 lat 73.553736 long Maldives Trip Day 2 - Looking for Manta Rays D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

Great post I will definitely follow @fiftysixnorth I love Travel also, If you are looking for some travel inspiration I offer a Travel Bucket List series, follow back and stay in touch!

Hi! Thanks! That sounds awesome, I will definitely read your Travel Bucket List series. Followed you back :)

That looks amazing.. I definitely have Maldives on my (ever growing) list!

I highly recommend it! But take some time to save up for it. It wasn't cheap! :)

Too easy to find you now on traveldigest! Great post once more - the video is cool so I think you know what you are doing, no need to apologize!

Thanks! I appreciate the kind words :) Glad to know you are enjoying my posts! Its a great motivator knowing people are enjoying it :)

I don't dive, never been some of the places you have, you do great work - what's not to like!

Thanks mate! :)

Love it @fiftysixnorth! I've swum with manta rays in Hawaii and it was magic. Don't have any awesome photos or video like you do though.

Thanks @choogirl :) I was surprised at how many people were swimming around with gopros out there :) There's more to come! We had quite a few dives!

That must be such an amazing feeling seeing the Manta rays like that

So interesting hooking to the reef to stay in one spot to view them

It was awesome mate :) Especially when they swim right over your head and get close to you. Its like you are interacting with an alien or something. It truly is another world down there.

I was thinking it’s a whole new world

Awesome experience

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 7 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

So cool too see such magnificent creatures in the wild. It's too bad the viewing got cut a little short. Jealous you are in the Maldives

Thanks for commenting! Yes, its amazing to see them in the wild. I just hope that people continue to enjoy just watching them and aren't tempted to try and touch them.

Thanks mate :)

Majestic creatures, looks totally alien. Had a chance to see a few live myself while diving in Egypt. And the water is so muddy because of the strong current i presume? How strong was it? As once we got into such a strong one, that it took us 10 minutes of heavy pedaling to get bet 100 meters to the boat. I thought we were done lol

And the video is awesome, right selection of the music and good montage :) Cant wait for the next one :)

Thanks mate! The current wasn't as strong as that! The water looks muddy because we're at about 25 meters depth or 80ft. So it was more a case of, a bit deep for much natural light to penetrate :) It proved a bit of hard work for my poor gopro :) Glad you enjoyed it mate, hopefully you'll like the next one too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52