Edam - Not just a cheese..

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I posted about Amsterdam and taking pictures in awful weather, well I am at home today because I woke up with the plague and was told not to come in to the office so I will write about where I was before Amsterdam.


20160810-IMG_4468.jpg

I was in Edam! Not just a cheese, but the historic town where Edam cheese is made. Despite my family being from holland, I had never been to Edam (as well as lots of other places) but I am glad to have made the time.


20160810-IMG_4423.jpg

The one thing Edam is most famous for is the cheese market. People flock from all over to come to Edam and buy cheese at the market. Though its not just a market, its a display of the town's historic cheese market traditions and practices.


20160810-IMG_4437.jpg

Edam is riddled with canals which the farmers use to transport their cheese to the market.


20160810-IMG_4441.jpg

Once there the guys in white uniforms take the cheeses and transport them over to the market. I think they are all volunteers otherwise they only work like one day a week.


20160810-IMG_4442.jpg

I like the look of the guy on the right.. kinda like he's done something bad and is trying to look casual :)


20160810-IMG_4460.jpg

Aside from the cheese, Edam is a beautifully historic town with wonderful architecture. All the buildings in the center of the town are still the original buildings from god knows when.. and they're beautiful.


20160810-IMG_4479.jpg

Some even look like they were homemade.. and instead of using a spirit level to assure everything was straight they just kind of eyeballed it.


20160810-IMG_4484.jpg

Surrounded by canals that go around and through the town you can bet there are plenty of those iconic dutch drawbridges. I do love them. They are so unique and so recognisably dutch!


20160810-IMG_4481.jpg

More bridges..

20160810-IMG_4488.jpg

and more


20160810-IMG_4495.jpg

even more..


20160810-IMG_4454.jpg

one more for luck..


20160810-IMG_4496.jpg

This one's my favourite view of the town, it looks so peaceful and green, and it looks like they replaced the roads with canals (they didn't).


20160810-IMG_4485.jpg

I like visiting historic towns, especially ones where people still actively live their lives. It gives you a wonderful view of the past and the culture of a place, it has character and tells a story.

!steemitworldmap 52.511488 lat 5.049123 long Edam - Not just a cheese D3SCR


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

That was an awesome tour! I love Edam and most of Holland and its little villages. I lived outside of Soesterberg and Edam was a hop away.

You have captured the essence of this historical beauty. I love how your camera and you worked together to really tell the story.

That guy looks as guilty as sin itself

Thank you so much for this. Did you get to the cheese factories where they made the cheese. I never took cheese for granted after watching the process!

Feel better soon!!!

Thanks! That's very kind! He does look super guilty doesn't he :) lol! I didn't make it to the cheese factories though we passed a few. I have seen a few documentaries on various cheeses and how they are made. Its really interesting and so much goes into making a cheese its quite surprising :)

Next time you will have to go! :) I would move there in a heartbeat, but, it is so freaking cold there in the winter!

Thanks for the tour of Edam, I had of course heard of the Cheese but never put it together with an actual place and found htis post so interesting,

And yes I agree that guy in the white sure looks like he has been up to some sort of MIchief lOL

You're welcome! Its a gorgeous little village :) I'm glad it was informative for you, its definitely worth a visit if you are ever in holland!

Sadly I most likely will never travel overseas again but have done more than my sharecand can travel virtually on here

Oh that's right, I remember you telling me that before. :/

Great post and very nice photos. Thank you for sharing with us :)

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=edam-not-just-a-cheese


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Amazing post, and very good in timing :) I need to learn more about Amsterdam as i was contacted by Rocket Startups they want to talk about us getting into their accelerator. We'll see if we accept their deal.

Thanks! That's awesome! I don't know much about those guys, they're a kind of startup incubator right? That sounds like a pretty interesting opportunity, and Amsterdam is a pretty great city to be in. The missus and I have been talking about if we ever leave Scotland, that is where we'd go (and with brexit we've been talking about it more seriously).

lol :) I've been hearing great stories about the city, and yes they are accelerator, not exactly what we need right now, but let's see what they have to say :)

Always good to keep your options open :) good luck!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 6 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This is a great post @fiftysixnorth. Your photos tell a great story!

Feel better soon.

Thanks! I'm glad you like it. Hopefully I will be recovered by the weekend :)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48