Where Old and New Town Meet

in #photography6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

A landscape shot of the city of Edinburgh. This is arguable the centre of town. On the left you have the old town which has many old near-medieval buildings with lots of small windy roads with not much logical structure (obviously not built with cars or even horse carriages in mind) and on the right is the new town filled with Georgian architecture. Looking at a map of the two areas you will see the new town was built with a more modern sensibility to city planning as many of the roads are straight and organised in blocks. The roads are larger and wider as well to accommodate more modern vehicles.
In the centre is Waverley train station. The main station in the city which kind of glues the two very different parts of the city together. Before trains it was a livestock market, it must have really stank of cow shit back then... thankfully not anymore :)

This is one of my favourite shots I've taken. I've even gone so far as to have it framed. It marks a milestone in my photography as my long exposure photography dramatically increased in quality at this point. Not only that, but this is also one of the first HDRs I did where the exposure blending and post processing I did made the image look real and not over cooked like so many HDRs do.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Nice long exposure!
well done.

Thanks mate :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love Edinburgh not been in years but should arrange a trip there soon hey 💯🐒

its a great city to visit, you definitely should! ;)

When i do the Scottish tour hey 💯🐒

I was led your way through #thealliance....

This is a beautiful shot! Things have changed so much over the years.

I was born in Edinburgh but live in Canada now having come here at a fairly young age with my parents.... can't wait to go through some of your other photos, hoping to see some of "hame"!

Thank you for sharing, I am now following 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47