The Storm.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

storm.jpg

Last evening, some electricity transformer exploded, and several houses, including ours, were without electricity for 2.5 hours. At this time storm clouds were coming from the mountains and covering the sky.

It looked so formidable that I decided to capture a video, as the storm comes. Until the downpour began, I was recording video from the open window. When the rain approached, I had to close the window. After a heavy shower ended, I opened the window again. The sky blazed with dense flashes of lightning. The camera was capturing video, and I was photographing the sky, trying to catch the lightning with a 5-second exposure.

As a result, I got a few beautiful photos, and a small video, that I composed from the 2 hour recording. The first part of the video is accelerated by 1000% of normal speed, and the second with lightnings is slowed by 35% of the speed.

Unfortunately, my video camera and my photo camera are not professional, and therefore I apologize for the low quality of video and photos.

video camera Panasonic HDC-SD40
divide7.png

IMG_1552_1.jpg

divide7.png

IMG_1574_1.jpg

divide7.png

IMG_1559_1.jpg

divide7.png

IMG_1558_1.jpg

divide7.png

IMG_1602_1.jpg

divide7.png

IMG_1581_1.jpg

divide7.png

photo camera Canon PowerShot A460
exposure 5'
iso 100

Thanks to the failure of the transformer, I was able to take pictures of lightning for the first time. Otherwise, I would sit at the computer and miss this opportunity to capture a lightning.

Thanks for reading! :)

divide5.png

Sorry for my English :)

Sort:  

Lightning is very impressive and very scary. I have some very dramatic and often scary experiences with it and I'm sure I will continue to have them. I love the video from the International Space Station of the lightning seen from space. That energy is so powerful but so common worldwide. If such natural energy could be utilized, fossil fuels would not be necessary.

Anyway, thanks for sharing these.

Thank you, @keniza! I'm curious about your dramatic and scary experiences, I imagined someone close to Nikola Tesla manipulating with lightning and laughing with passion in eyes :D

Actually, I was working on a farm many years ago. I was driving a tractor in a field during a huge lightning storm and a tree about 20 meters away got struck and split in half. It sounded like a bomb went off. Freaky.

By the way, thanks for checking out my last chapter. I'm going to post the next one in the next day or so. I hope you like it.

I was driving a tractor in a field during a huge lightning storm and a tree about 20 meters away got struck and split in half. It sounded like a bomb went off. Freaky.

O_o... OMG... so scary...
I remembered the film "Powder" :)

I forgot about that movie. Thanks for the clip.

WOW! That's some crazy lightning!

Thank you, @somethingrandom! Glad you like it! :)

This is really impressive. I actually felt relieved that I wasn't there. Captured the sense of nature unrestrained. Great blog. I hope it does well. It deserves to. And your English is great--I know a couple of languages, sort of, but can't muster the courage to write in them.

Thank you so much, @agmoore! I was scared to start writing posts in English, but in the end, I decided to defeat my fears :) My reward for the victory over my fear is your kind words and comments to my posts. :) Thank you!!!

Your English is perfect--more precise than many born to the language. Amazing. Looking forward to reading more posts from you.

Thank you @agmoore for your kind words! I highly appreciate your support!

Wow! Great photos and video! The Lightning strike look very powerful!

Thank you, @sweettais! I'm glad you like my post! :)

Magnificent riot of heavenly powers! Simultaneously and frightening, and beautiful!

Thank you, @mocosh, I agree with you! :)

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you!!!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47