Good Sunday morning with Drosanthemum

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Nothing like getting up and while the sun is still not too hot or bright go look what's in bloom. I am a little bit behind though - this one was blooming like last month. Now I need to trim it a bit and let it grow more. It is growing so fast that it is taking of the floor. And I already don't have too much room there ;)

Drosanthemum ice plant purple flower 1.jpg

Drosanthemum is a type of an Ice Plant but with very tiny (about 1 cm), bubbly leaves. Flowers are smaller too than my other Ice Plants (Delosperma), but the shape is the same. I got it as few cuttings a while back and when it arrived I looked at it and wondered how in a world that dry stick is gonna grow?
Well... it grows.. and grows like a weed :) In spring though it is covered in those tiny, lilac flowers. I can imagine how lovely it would look in a rockery or some hanging basket.

Drosanthemum ice plant purple flower 2.jpg

Drosanthemum ice plant leaf macro 2.jpg

See the little bubbles on the leaves? Super tiny things! From the distance the who plant looks kind of dull/silvery because of that. Reminds me of Livingstone Daisies. They have the weird textured leaves too.

Drosanthemum ice plant leaf macro 1.jpg

Drosanthemum ice plant purple flower 3.jpg

Have a lovely Sunday Steemians!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(f/9, 1/640, 105mm, ISO160)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Lovely shots, nice and clear and sharp!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

woohoo what a great way to start your sunday :D

I can't wait for my drosanthemum to do its thing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63