Balcony Gardening Report

in #photography5 years ago

Today I'd like to share a balcony gardening report with you. It's funny to use the balcony word but I have to as this is not real gardening, or is it? I remember prior to registering here on Steemit, I've been using another platform that went dark and we had a #balconygardening tag specially for this type of posts.

yk9ne4roxl.jpg

Ok, let me start with Nigella, which is growing nicely but I'm a little bit concerned.

The species grow to 20–90 cm tall, with finely divided leaves; the leaf segments are narrowly linear to threadlike. The flowers are white, yellow, pink, pale blue or pale purple, with five to 10 petals. The fruit is a capsule composed of several united follicles, each containing numerous seeds; in some species (e.g. Nigella damascena), the capsule is large and inflated. source

Unfortunately I don't have the package of the seeds and can't check what it says in the description but I'm truly hoping mine won't grow 90 cm tall as there's no place for that. These flowers are already tall enough, I believe 30 cm already. I can't wait to see the flowers.

Did you know that Nigella is also called Love-in-a-mist?

qo3e2k2m0p.jpg

This is what I got from the so called balcony flower mix. As far as I can tell, there are two types of flowers here. maybe I can identify one but I'm not sure I'm right. I believe it's Celosia argentea, commonly known as the plumed cockscomb or silver cock's comb. The other could be anything. I guess I'll have to wait till the flowers appear.

ai6l5jnk90.jpg

I'm a bit disappointed about the pansies. There should be 6 pansies here, I only have four and one is not growing. I can't understand why. If I'm looking at the positive side of it, I still have three healthy growing pansies.

byrto713qu.jpg

This jungle is called Lobelia. These little plants have grown so much in such a short period. Should get some flowers soon.

fquu9euudp.jpg

This is a new entry, it's called Dianthus barbatus, sweet William. This was my maternal grandmother's favorite flower and I also love it. Never had it before so this year I thought it's time to try it out.

yspbshnz3r.jpg

I can consider myself lucky this year as all the seeds were good, flowers are growing nicely.

steemit-border

Check out my #SevenDaysOutside Challenge!

1nap82ea0l.jpg

These are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements or cobblestones please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Make sure you write a description of the photo you are posting. Share as much details as you can, like where that statue is placed (in a park, at a museum), what it represents etc. Make it enjoyable.

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag me, @erikah!

Goes without saying that you can only use your own photos. No paintings, no drawings, no digital art please! There is no prize here, this is just for fun.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks.

Cant wait for some shots when it's all blooming, looks already great how everything is growing. "Balcony gardening" is a nice way to get plants where no direct soil is available.

I'm going to post more photos as they start to bloom, can't wait :) Thanks for stopping by.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Many thanks.

It absolutely is real gardening. You garden with what you have. Anything is better than nothing and the experience is all that counts.

You're right, i couldn't agree more :)

A balcony garden is a garden - anywhere a gardener grows something is a garden :)

Thank you, I'm glad you see it that way :)

I think it counts as real gardening! Always love to see what you have growing. I just went out to the garden for some herbs and took some photos, so I'll try to get a post up today to share!

Yay, thank you! I'm heading over to see what you were up to 😀

!sbi status

Hi @erikah!

  • you have 240 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 316263196159 or 0.179 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.036 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 62.65 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 37.35 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

Thanks for the information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45