How Well Do You Know Them Monkeys? (with videos)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had a monkey sit on your shoulder?
How would you feel if one does?

I have always feared monkeys, they seem mischievous, out of control and pretty wild. Our encounter with some wild Barbary Macaques in the Monkey Temple in Huahin, Thailand years ago made that fear worsen when I saw them grab a bunch of bananas from a boy and started fighting with each other. The noise they made was unbearable it send shivers to your spine.

Hub knows how much I love animals and he has always asked me to go with him to the monkey reserve half an hour away from home. For years, I've refused but this year, for him I gave in. He took me to a Primate Park the week I got almost stressed out from doing too many things to get me relaxed.

I didn't know what to expect just monkeys -they're just monkeys I thought. We bought our ticket online so we won't have to fall in line and just scan it. When we got there the staff gave us a map of the place and asked us to put our bags in a "monkey-free" bag (that's what they call it). Confused, I asked why - and she just told me some monkeys are walking loose in the reserve and could sometimes stick their fingers in visitor's bags and grab whatever they could find there. So we did.

We decided to go to where the stray Bolivian Squirrel Monkeys are and found a crowd of visitors gathered together around a stroller with a kid on it scanning everything they could maybe find in it. Hub said they could work in the customs - for checking every stroller there.

I just stood next to them watching when one of them jumped and sat on my shoulder. He stared at me and I dared not stared back, worried he might see his reflection on my "mirror" -like sunglasses, I looked away and

We walked along following the path in the map and saw more of them gnawing on strips of carrots and some on cabbages. We followed the trail on the map that was given to us by one of the staff in the entrance that has all the do's and don'ts on it and we heard a very loud noise of monkeys that seem to be fighting with each other. We asked one of the staff what that was all about and she said that's just how they communicate with each other. Curious, we checked them out and bumped into a male Ring Tailed Lemur from Madagascar walking towards me being followed by a bunch of children.

We went on and found a few hanging out on what look a hammock.

On the other side were two moms breastfeeding their young who fled when we stayed and watched. I've managed to take these though.

We made a wrong turn and found ourselves in the Bonobo's abode. Some of them were having a siesta and we could just see them through a glass wall. One was in a hammock just staring at me yawning every now and then. Bonobo apes are actually endangered because of poaching so it's nice to see them just having a safe life in this reserve.

What a life - they are having, every thing is taken care of, food, water, dwelling even a playground. We went around and stumbled in what seem to be a gallery.

We went through the other door and found a trail overlooking a trail and what seem to be a monkey's playground in the middle. There we found more Bonobos or chimpanzees playing with their Mom.

Mommy Bonobo

We followed the trail and found more monkeys in the glass cage. One was just basking in the sun and the others just seemingly picking lice out of each other.

They're a star - adored and gushed by children and adults alike. A happy sight to see. The trio suddenly leaped on a tree and started chewing on leaves. One was licking the bark after each swallow. I wonder why.

Onward we went and found ourselves in the Orangutan's dwelling. A few of them were in the glass cage like these siblings just sitting on straws playing with each other while Mom was staring at everyone staring back at them through the glass cage.

We went outside and saw two of them basking in the sun, too. We stopped to watch and another visitor said; " He'd trade his life to theirs - everything's so easy, just basking in the sun, food's on the ground -for the grab and most of all - no taxes to pay. I grinned - not because I agree with him but because of the naughty thought that hit me ..."Okay, you may have such a life but then ... looking like an Orangutan, I'm okay with paying taxes, besides here in Holland, I see where they go.

We walked further and found the entrance of a restaurant / playground for kids / smoking area / habitat for loris on the loose - where we decided to have an apple pie and some cappuccino since we look like we'll be needing the energy to stroll such a huge place. I like the cup with the ape and thought of buying one for a souvenir.

After our pie break we headed for the Gorilla show and found out that we just missed it. It finishes at 4 and the lady who takes care of Bongo told us to just go to the gorilla's gallery to see them. There, we found them having turnips and some leaves for a snack. A few more minutes the same lady we spoke with turned up with an ice cream and fed Bongo. He then turned his massive back against us all. The other gorillas licked up the rest of the ice cream oozing on the cage while Bongo hid in the corner eating a whole broccoli.

How the other gorillas reacted while he was being fed ice cream was a spectacle to watch - I don't think it's because they understood that what he's having is actually crap and poison. They just stared at Bongo being fed... didn't make a fuzz and licked up what's drooling on the metal cage. No wrestling nor any struggle took place.

We moved on and stumbled with a few Barbary Macaques who were fighting and making so much noises. They're loose but far away from the crowd. These two caught my eyes, they were just there on one of those pretend rock walls in the Barbary Macaques' dwelling. These are Gundis or comb rats. They were just there, one lying on top of the other - both seemingly drowsy.

One of the Barbary Macaques was away from the others who at that time were fighting over food. This guy was just doing his monkey business - seemingly fishing grains out of this man made pond.

Further more, we bumped into photo booths, exhibit rooms, a bunch of Ibis and more monkeys. The Lion Tail Macaque caught our attention. The Lion Tail Macaque is named as such because of the white mane on his face. He's also called the "bearded ape" for having such a mane on his face. In the wild, they could live for 20 years but in captivity and if properly taken care of they could live for 30 years. One of them was given an apple because it has a diabetes. It's not just taxes they don't have to pay but also medical insurance. What a life!

It's a very good climber, this one has managed to climb up one of the trees in the habitat, jumped to another tree on the other side of the water around their playground, picked up a bottle of coca cola and went back to the group trying to open it.

We moved on and saw more monkeys we couldn't take a clear pic of because they were just going back and forth what seem to be rope monkey bars. They were very fun to watch. Then we bumped along this long bearded monkeys going back and forth this hanging monkey bridges attached to tall trees. One of them stopped and looked down. I extended my arms, tip-toed to take a shot but it still isn't clear for that Emperor Tamarin was way above me. They seem pretty restless and I saw one munch on an apple and disappeared in the door like opening to their artificial habitat.

We climbed up a trail and found more restless monkeys, sloths, poisonous frogs and tropical insects all kept separately in terrariums in a quite - dim room. When we went out of it , we bumped into the smallest monkey in the world - the very shy type.

We headed back to the door since it was already closing time and saw a bunch of monkeys just by the door restlessly waiting for their caretaker to open the door for them. It's their feeding time for dinner and so these guys couldn't wait to grab a meal. We took quick shots and headed for the entrance.

Red Tit Monkey

On the way out, we gave back the bags that were given to us and headed for the souvenir shop. The cup is nowhere to be seen so I thought of buying this.

Until I saw this.

It was quite a long relaxing stroll that day despite the heat. It felt like I was walking in a forest because of the tall trees in there that provided the shade we needed and the presence of the animals that were there - healthy and safe. That day, I had a different view about monkeys - specially about the Barbary Macaques. That night, I dreamt that I cuddled one of those Bolivian Squirrel Monkeys and he just lazed in my arms. I had such a fun day, I brought it in my sleep. What can I say, yes - they're indeed my kind'a monkeys. Would I go back? Definitely, perhaps next year, sometime in July or August where the tickets are much cheaper than the normal days and hopefully, I get to see the monkeys I didn't get to see then and if not.. I'll just enjoy the serenity the place offers despite the presence of other visitors.

Curious about what else is happening nearby Arnhem, the Bitcoin city? Follow me @englishtchrivy ;)

all of the pics were made by either Samsung Galaxy A5 (2016 edition), A3 (2016 edition) and with SAMSUNG ES65, ES67 / VLUU ES65, ES67 / SAMSUNG SL50 camera.

Sort:  

oo monkeys...mmm not sure of them after experiencing them on Gibralter 20 yrs ago! They can be a little vicious. Orangutangs on the other hand I just want to pick up and cuddle - in 2 yrs my eldest daughter is off to do conservation work in Borneo for a gap year, and one of the higlights of this is to spend a few days at the orangutang orphanage - so jealous !!!

haha.. I can relate - Barbary Macaques could really be nasty in the wild, too freaked out by them in two places in Thailand but the ones in the reserve are trained and they also posted the do's and don'ts so I guess if monkeys are exposed to people they're ok - except for the huge ones I suppose - like gorillas - they still look very scary

Haha one of them reminds me of the one from the Madagascar movie. Love this song which I think is a good song for running or walking.

@ace108 yes! they're the Ring Tailed Lemurs and they are from Madagascar, too.

Monkeys are scary. They seem so violent, but I suppose they are no more violent than humans. Movies like Congo don't help with fear of monkeys, either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49