A Newcomer ...

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hey ....
I haven't seen you around here before.
Where are you from ?
You are clothe very differently ...
Don't be afraid .. I'm just taking shots ... nothing more .. I promise

This was me talking in my head to this Speckled Wood Butterfly which was lured by these delicate vanilla scented strawberry flowers blooming into my strawberry greenhouse. Asking if strawberry flowers really smell like vanilla - try sticking your nose on them ;).

Slowly, calmly .. I approached this lil' creature. It's the first time I saw her here. Yes, she's a female - you could see it from the shape of her stomach. Males have thinner lower bodies than those of the female butterflies. The Peacock and Tortoise Shell Butterflies are a common sight in my garden but not this one. Poor gal, she must be freaking out now. Those folded wings actually meant "ready to fly away". They spread their wings to warm it up when they are exhausted. She's all re-charged.

I took a few shots to remember her. I hope she lays eggs somewhere in my garden. Speckled Woods are common in England, she must have migrated to have reached us. Well, we're just waters away from the UK. Wonder where her hub is. Surely, our garden is starting to look like a little forest, the conifers on the fence, the kiwis as well as my apple trees have grown taller than before. These Speckled Wood butterfly love hedgerows - that's what must have drawn her into coming here.

I tried to pick up the pot of the strawberry plant she was on but I guess it scared her more ~ she moved near the netted window of the strawberry greenhouse. She'll have a heartburn (if she has a heart) if she stays there. It's scorching hot in the greenhouse, more so - that plastic sheet.

I went out of the greenhouse to get something to help her get out without damaging her precious wings. I was halfway back to the greenhouse when I saw her flew out of it and started nipping on a few left over carnation flowers she flew on to. Go ahead, nip your heart away little buddy. You can always come by around here.

I noticed the feasting Peacock Butterflies are on the Buddleja again so I took a few shots ..

Ok , I actually indulged.

Then a Big White Butterfly flew by ...He's pretty aloof, it's hard taking his pics. A lot of them were here in July, they fly away too fast - they're gone before you could take one shut. I waited for him to take a nip ... he did.

Then he flew to another flower ... so this is what their stomach actually look like when in flight. (exclaiming inside - looking at the shot on my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 version smart phone)

I left them alone to tinker some more when something budged on one of the strawberry pots... Hey, what have we got here?

He jumped off the pot so I left him alone, too. Poor little guy he was just trying to cool off sitting on that freshly watered soil. I hope I didn't freak him out. Tinkered some more ... hmmm....these ever bearing strawberries look promising for future breakfasts.

I love sunny days - bugs come out during these days! I have but one strawberry harvest today... hmmm... Yum. Nothing beats home grown fruits ;)

Sort:  

Dear @englishtchrivy,

Your post has been selected by the @robinhoodwhale initiative as one of our top picks for curation today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

The Steemit community looks forward to more amazing blogs from you. So, please keep on Steeming!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

great pics again - we use to have loads of different butterflys visit our garden when I lived in the UK. We had resident toads and frogs, think they must have been from the 'tadpoles' we use to collect each year to show my girls how they develop ... they lived under the ferns and inbetween the stone hedging near the pond.

@ladypenelope1 thank you ! ^ ^ sounds like one happy memory - perhaps you should write about it!

truly beautiful. and I need to ask what did you do to have font style like yours?

@deanliu thanks,
It's HTML.
Try typing < then ..
h6 then> ..

but then without spacing them - I had to write it this way other wise it won't work
then type the paragraph
then close with < then ..
h6 then ..>
do that on every paragraph
goodluck!
pass it forward!

@deanliu to close is actually ...
with < then .. /
h6 then ..>
again no space

thanks a lot for guidance! will try sometime! much appreciated!

You're welcome!

Lovely photos,especially the ones with the butterflies.

Nice work @englishtchrivy

I replied to your post from my feed earlier before seeing your work. So, you know all about photography. Keep it up.

@runrudy, yes, I love nature and got a bit obsessed with it.
Thank you, too!

To all 97 Steemians who upvoted this post and the many other souls who posted their comments THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH not only for the upvotes but for taking time reading this post. Steem on! ^ ^

To all 97 souls who up voted this post, thank you very much to you all!
To every soul who's writing comments, - I've noticed a few of you has often been here ... THANK YOU VERY MUCH YA ' ALL!
Have a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69121.30
ETH 3739.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75