LOST DOG AWARENESS DAY – NATIONALDAYS CHALLENGE - COLORCHALLENGE MONDAYRED

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Today, is St. George's Day in England – celebrating the guy who killed the dragon – the Patron Saint of England.

It is also National Picnic Day, English Language Day, Impossible Astronaut Day, National Cherry Cheesecake Day, World Book And Copyright Day, World Laboratory Day, National Talk Like Shakespeare Day and National Take A Chance Day. The day I have chosen to highlight today though is Lost Dog Awareness Day -

To Remind Us “Not All Stray Dogs Are Homeless”.

Read about it on lostdogsofamerica.org.

It has been 5 years now since our old faithful terrier mix Carlos left us for the Rainbow Bridge at age 17. I made this portrait of him with my old Canon 10D back in 2004 when I had my photography studio. Wasn't he a handsome fellow?

carlos studio 2004.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.


CameraCanon 10D
LensEF 50mm USM
Exposure1/60 sec; f/10; ISO 10
When2004
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop CC 2018, Adobe® Camera Raw

To join this challenge, all you have to do is:

  1. Use YOUR OWN photography
  2. Use the tag #nationaldays
  3. Check the web on sites like this for the day's challenges to choose from
  4. Write a post daily, or as often as you like
  5. Anyone can join in, but nominate 2 people if you like
  6. Copy and paste the challenge guidelines into your post

It is also #colorchallenge #MondayRed initiated by @ kalemandra. See her post here.

Check out the rules and the theme for this week's #wiwcontest here. I hope you will consider joining us!



Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png

Sort:  

the dog is very nice and cute . thanks

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Great shot! Carlos was very handsome indeed! And I love the nationaldays tag idea. I'm bookmarking that website so I remember to check out what's being celebrated each day.

Yes he was! It's fun to do a #nationaldays post every now and again. I don't have the time to do it daily, but it does give me some original ideas for posts when I check the date!

I agree it would be difficult and time consuming to do it every day but it's a great way to get original ideas. And you doing this sparked one for me. I just noticed on Twitter that it's World Book Day. A new post will be coming shortly to commemorate!

I thought about doing that one too, but settled on the lost dog awareness one instead.

He sure was sweet in every way. I miss him.

Interesting entry.. what Charming dog.

He was charming in looks and personality too!

Beautiful photo and beautiful dog. Thanks @dmcamera

I’m glad you liked it and thanks for stopping by.

@dmcamera You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Such a charming fellow, looks so good with his neckerchief. Dearly missed no doubt, although 17 is a very grand old age for a dog.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Yes, he did well to live until 17! He was my son's dog, and he was supposed to stay with us for just a little while until he found an apartment where he could take him, and the rest is history. I couldn't part with him when the time came, so he stayed! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.47
ETH 3486.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19