My heart photo obsession made into a handmade book shaped like a box

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I find heart shapes everywhere I go, so I started taking pictures of them. I have some rules about my heart photos, but essentially I can't create the heart myself (and usually they are not created by others), and I have to get like a big YES sensation when I see it.

I think I have hundreds of these photos?

I have been doing this since I think 2010. And in 2011 I made a book from the photos, called Hearts Pop Out Everywhere. At the time I had taken over 100 photos of hearts. I don't know how many I have, now. I will post them from time to time on Steemit and at some point I will try to better organize and count them! I do go through dry spells for a few months at a time, but then I start seeing them again.

Here is an image of the book. It folds up into a box shape. I love making books that are containers of some kind. You may have seen my earlier post about zines showing some that have pockets.

Hearts Pop Out Everywhere

boxbook2.jpg

Process of making the book

P1020007.JPG

It is hand sewn

IMG_0987.jpg

Here is one of my earlier heart photos. A puddle at the Portland Zoo. Each heart seems to carry a message related to the moment I saw it, which gives me the feeling that my life is being animated, frame-by-frame, like in a comic, by a continuous string of hearts.

Portland Zoo Heart

IMG_0456.jpg

For example, one day during a time when I was considering moving out of my house, I saw two large cardboard boxes propped up on a street corner, with a large heartshaped rip in one of them.

Moving Heart

IMG_0616.jpg

Whether it’s a message from my subconcious, or a message from something outside of me, I enjoy a creative energy each time I notice a heart shape, and am reminded that love is everywhere!!! :)

This one happened when I was rinsing out a silk screen behind the studio I was working in

IMG_0482.jpg

This one is from a time I volunteered to help an elderly man move. This is the carpeting on his steps.

IMG_0781.jpg

Some natural debris on the sewer grating

IMG_1481.jpg

An incredible heart in relief left from car tires in the snow

P1020084.JPG

P1020085.JPG

I catch a lot of heart clouds. I love them

IMG_0471.JPG

Ok i could go on all day

But I will stop here for now! Stay tuned for more hearts, including a video of a log burning in a campfire, you guessed it, the end is shaped like a heart!

Check out my other recent post

Creativity, Community Wellness, and Montana! My Niche...

Thank you and be well!

xo,

dflo

Sort:  

Such a cute idea!! I wish you had shown how to make it!!! Id love to do that for my mom!!

i will keep that in mind for a tutorial video! I will try and remember to tag you if i make one!

I guess you havent been on discord but if you post them in team girl powa i will def see it!! Also tag teamgirlpowa

Ive just been hanging out in PAL a lot lately. I will make sure to come by :) Thanks! And oohh i forgot to tag with that thank you. I always kinda struggle with tag ideas.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dflo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

I am here princess @dflo lol

That would be queen ruler dflo, actually , haha

Hahaha... I laughed until my stomach ached. They laugh at aggroed hahaha

Great photos i like this urban style!

Oh! I've seen a website full of heart-shaped pictures before, someone was 'chasing' those as well! So lovely and little gifts of life, happy you made it into a book as well, it's a treasure to keep <3

Thank you! I actually made them into books that I sold! :) I should have said that in there. I made like 20 of these and sold them at a craft fair thing.

What an awesome project! I love your book, and the heart photos are so wonderful! My favorite is the "car tracks in the snow" shot! So cool! I have a collection of heart photos, as well, but had not thought of putting them into a post like this! This is fabulous! 😊

Yay if you do please tag me! Thanks to the internet I have met others who love doing this as well. Its such a nice little hobby. I sold copies of this book but i only have like 2 left. I am transitioning from working full time to part time right now and once i get a little more time I plan to make some tutorials. I will show how I made this book. And if i get a LOT more time, I will make more of them to sell , for steem! :) I want to share more of my heart photos as I go along. I wonder if its worth starting a heartphoto tag? Would really like to see yours and find others !

I have FINALLY posted those heart-shaped photos that I mentioned! You can find them here:
https://steemit.com/photography/@thekittygirl/heart-shaped-photos

Love this idea! I'm here because @thekittygirl shared her heart-shaped photos (as she says in the comment next to mine - LOL), and I think it would be awesome to do a heartphoto tag. It certainly can't hurt to give it a go, right? I'll keep an eye open for more of your heart photos, and when I put together my own (because I can think of a half dozen or so already that I've taken over the years), I'll be sure to shout out. Oh, and wicked cool book idea too!

Wow cool yes lets do it even if there are three of us! :) I bet there are more though. And yeah the book I neglected to say in the post that I made several copies of it and sold it at a holiday fair and on Etsy. I might make it again once I figure out how to sell things on Steemit! :)

Deal! I'll get my post up sometimes in the next few days! And good luck figuring out how to sell stuff on Steemit - I'm thinking there must be an app for that somewhere... LOL!

What should be the tag? Just heartphotos perhaps? Or do you like heart-photos ? Anyways i think there are a few ideas floating around for a marketplace but it has not been figured out just yet. Meanwhile I will just make blog posts here mainly :)

I like heartphotos, mostly because I'd probably confuse myself, wondering if it was supposed to be heart-photos or heart_photos... LOL!

And coolness - it's so awesome to be on the platform as things develop, instead of being late to the party (which is what usually happens to me :P ).

Pretty cute idea :)

Looks like you see love in everything. Wonderful post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58