Heart-Shaped Photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

An incredibly artistic post was made some time back by @dflo, which featured a book she made from photographs of hearts. Even though the post is too old to upvote, it is definitely worth checking out for that amazing art project! Leave her an appreciative comment, too!

I had mentioned to her at the time that I had a small collection of heart photos as well, and she seemed interested in seeing them. So, much later than she probably anticipated seeing them — life happens! LOL — here they are...

~ all photos by me ~

The first photo in the series is one that I snapped in the back yard of our house in Kingsport, TN. My husband was dying of cancer at the time, and I had left the house briefly to run to the pharmacy and refill a prescription for his pain medication. On returning home and walking from the car into the house, I glanced over towards the hedge where a gnarled, tangle of vines was protruding and saw a heart-shape. This photo is blurry because it was made two days before he passed and I burst into tears when I saw the vines, tangled like my own heart was at the time.

Heart--01.jpg

A couple of years later while I was caring for my elderly parents, my mother was hospitalized. During one of my breaks to stretch my legs and grab a smoke, I saw this tree which had been pruned on the grounds of the hospital in Easley, SC. The scar left behind where the branch was cut had a shape resembling a heart.

Heart--02.jpg

While walking through my parents' back yard one day, I found this heart-shaped rock. There is quite a bit of white quartz in the area, but it's the first heart-shaped rock that I discovered!

Heart--03.jpg

A heart-shaped leaf, delightfully colored red by the effects of autumn.

Heart--05.jpg

A friend of mine came to visit a few years ago, and I was showing her around the area. We went up one mountain that has an enormous granite outcropping on the side of it, so large that one can easily walk around on it. I was disappointed to see several places where vandals had scrawled graffiti over the beautiful, natural rock, but somewhat delighted to find this one, lovely little heart up there. Photo made on Bald Rock, on the side of Caesar's Head Mountain.

Heart--06.jpg

Although not a natural heart, I thought this window display was pretty. It is a local jewelry store's decoration prior to their Valentine's Day sale.

Heart--07.jpg

I have a piece of furniture that is 60-something years old, same as me! My parents bought a set of bedroom furniture shortly after they married which consisted of a bed, a matching chest-of-drawers, and a vanity/desk. It is so old that a small piece of the veneer chipped-away from the chest-of-drawers, exposing the wood underneath. Oddly, that chip is heart-shaped.

Heart--08.jpg

A charming little heart-shaped cloud, gracing the sky!

Heart--10.jpg

A beautiful leaf from an Eastern Redbud (Cercis canadensis) tree. I've always loved these heart-shaped leaves and the cheery yellow color that they turn in autumn!

Heart--11.jpg

About a year-and-a-half after my husband's passing, I was astonished to see this sight from the front porch — a completely natural heart-shaped opening in the leaves from two closely-growing trees (oak tree on the left, and a dogwood slightly-off-frame to the right). When I see things like this, I cannot help but marvel in astonishment.

Heart--12.jpg

Thank you for reading and enjoying the hearts with me! 😊


~ all photos by me ~

divider.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

These are great! It always makes me smile when I see hearts or smiley faces out in nature, or in places where it's totally unexpected. Thank you for sharing these!

Thank you for the comment of appreciation! I am glad you enjoyed seeing them! 😊

No pun intended, but oh, my heart!

Love your collection of heart shaped photos, and this is an awesome idea for a post! And (not just because I overused my VP today, but because I feel this really deserves a) - tip!

Thank you so much for the lovely comment and for the tip! heart.gif

You're very welcome! 😊

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 26 February 2018!

Fabulous! THANK YOU for curating my post! 😊

That was just awe inspiring! Our passed on loved ones greet us in the most subtle and mysterious ways. I've experienced similar dispatches from my father and mother after they moved on. Thank you!

awwww..., I am so glad you were touched in a similar way, too. heart.gif Thank you for the lovely comment, sweet lady! 😊

This is awesome, goes to show how little things can bring so much peace

Yes, that is very true, indeed! Thank you for stopping by and commenting! 😊

That is amazing. I have several photos here and there like this, but they are so scattered, I'd never be able to find them. You're making me want to try though.

Great post!

Thank you for the appreciation and comment! And please tag me if you do a similar post! 😊

Hi @thekittygirl! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @traciyork :)

Love these photographs! They are so pretty! Upvoted :)

Thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed them, too! 😊

Love it! It's so surprising how much you can of a shape if you are 'aware' of it :-) The yellow leaf is gorgeous <3

As I told @dflo, but I couldn't find the link back then, an old blogger friend of mine had a project, which translates from Dutch to 'heart on the street' - You can scroll through her images on twitter: https://twitter.com/hartopstraat/media - Ignore the Dutch text, there's some lovely finds on there! :D

Oh, I like those photos on Twitter! I don't speak Dutch very well, but I can read and understand some of it. Her photos are fabulous! Thanks for the link! 😊 So glad you enjoyed my photos, too, and thank you for the comment!

My hearts goes to you after I read your posts and the photos. So sorry to hear about your loss. It is nice to spot so many heart-shaped thing around you. It sort of reminded you that you are deeply loved.

❤💓💕💖💗💙💚💛💜💝💞💟❣💌

Yes, I see it as such a reminder, too! Thanks for your lovely comment! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47