Art Never Pays, But on Steemit, It Does

in #photography8 years ago

I create digital content to captivate or inspire people. But the problem is that few people want to fund the creation process.

Having showcased my work and ideas on Steemit for a month the feedback and financial support has been incredible.

Steemit has now become my number one site to post my content. The information I've always wanted to teach and the behind the scenes. Of course the financial reward is great, but for me it actually fuels my career path. The funds received go right back into creating more media to post on Steemit.

If you're a photographer, writer or artist then Steemit can start funding your media. The best way of getting value is by giving real value to Steemit. Help people help themselves in some way.

Feedback on your original photography or media? Use Steemit

I have taken over a million photos in the last six years. Now what do I do with them? Post them on Steemit of course. Package them into a creative photo story with the aim of captivating people. Unimaginable nature, unique angles or new knowledge gained from the photos.

My Steemit blog consists of numerous photo stories of events and locations that I thought the Steemit community would get a kick out of. Some posts have done great, others have flopped but every post helps me filter and edit my years worth of work that would otherwise go unseen. Maybe I'll even find some treasure to share with the community.

Writing a book? Use Steemit

I have written four posts on 'How to Really Become Great at Photography', it's not a book. But each post is primarily a chapter for a book that could be. Divulging all the information that I have learned over my years of pitfalls. Trying to set people on the right track from the start. My plan is to continue writing these to a point where I can use the original content from my posts to at least create a Kindle book, if not a physically printed book.

Each Steemit post becomes a book chapter, the community are first readers and the vote feedback is the test on how well that post would do if included in a book. If it flopped then maybe you didn't approach the topic in the right way. Or maybe that topic just isn't popular here on Steemit. Regardless, writing on Steemit will incentivse you to write that next chapter and push you to mix up your approach to appeal to a wider audience.

I see a lot of other writers doing this using a wide array of topics from recipes to fiction or teaching niche topics. Hopefully they can take it to the next level and produce a book from it.

Now ask yourself what can you post to Steemit that will give value and at the same time carve your career path?

Spend your time focusing on what you truly love and post about it on Steemit so you can continually fund your love.

Sort:  

Your photos are awesome - many thanks for being an inspiration.

I just mentioned you in a post:

My favourite photographer on Steemit, @daxon, recently posted “Being a great photographer is a mindset. It has nothing to do with the camera you use”. I’m sure that is one of the reasons why he consistently takes absolutely amazing photos

https://steemit.com/photography/@sift666/this-new-steemit-photo-geek-thing

Thanks for the mention! Glad you like the photos :)

I really appreciate that you wrote this. I've been using Steemit for the past month pretty much the same as you, to post photography work that I have accumulated over the past few years but have never really posted anywhere. It's been an awesome way to get those photos out of the darkness of my hard drive and into the world like I always intended them to, and the reward part of Steemit is a great bonus!

Well done! I will dive into Seemit myself as an iPhone photographer. Success.

Nice post. Pictures are so good.

thanks! need to read your previous posts)) follow you

Thank you very much for the advice if my last visit I wont vera publication he liked the community to publish, because until now a multi blog. Thank you very much for the advice

Nice post and great photos!

always enjoy your post, especially the how to be a better photographer- quick question GO-PRO - your opinion on them and whats a good one for a beginer. Want to be able to use for diving

Cheers! Gopro 4 silver for entry level, then upgrade depending on your requirements.

Great post and very inspiring!

This is a cool post!
Thx 4 Posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52