This new Steemit photo geek thing

in #photography8 years ago

The hot new trend on Steemit seems to be to post a single photo with nothing else with it but some photo geek tech specs. Typically this will be something along the lines of Canon SX666, ISO 666, 66mm, 6 ev, f/6.6, 1/66.

Clearly, for some people, this information is so overwhelmingly gripping that things like location, date, photographer or what on earth the photo is actually a picture of, can all be dispensed with. Really if you know what the lens and aperture is, what else do you need to know?

Following this minimalist style of describing things, women could be “Jane 36/28/34” and men could be “John $54,000 pa”. When watching the Tour de France, a stage winner might be “Peter, DuraAce, 53x11T”.

My favourite photographer on Steemit, @daxon, recently posted “Being a great photographer is a mindset. It has nothing to do with the camera you use”. I’m sure that is one of the reasons why he consistently takes absolutely amazing photos - https://steemit.com/photography/@daxon/photography-how-to-really-become-great-part-2-create-curiosity-and-anticipation

For anyone who wants to find out about camera gear, I highly recommend the site https://www.dpreview.com/ where you can read about camera gear (and see really in depth camera reviews) until the cows come home

For me, the two most important things in a camera are that it’s a Canon so I know where all the controls are, and that it’s small enough to fit in my pocket, so that it’s there when I need it.

Most modern cameras tend to be pretty high spec and can take photos that are high res enough to do website stuff with. Two of my favourite photo editing tools are the Android app Snapseed, and Adobe Photoshop – either Photoshop 7 (2002) or Creative Suite 6 (2012).

And now for a possible new trend in photo descriptions:

Photo taken with right hand, while eating a carob bar, and wearing Asics shoes

Photo taken while wearing purple Pink Floyd T-shirt, and a blue Cactus backpack, with itchy nuts

Photo taken while wearing orange beanie, having just been to dentist, and walking to the bus

Photo taken while my camera battery needs changing, I’m drinking Pump mineral water, and wiping my nose on my hankie

Photo taken after laying out all the things I just mentioned on the bed so I could take a photo of them, while eating some Danish cheese.

And what else would anyone possibly want to know a photo? If it’s true that a picture says a thousand words, then words are redundant anyway. So we could all just post a photo of the camera we used underneath our featured photo.


SIFT666 aka Ian Gregson is a professional Canon camera salesman and crypto-currency investor from Wellington, New Zealand.
In between photographing stranger’s arses and eating organic carob bars, he likes to watch YouTube videos about intimate personal hygiene and is currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called http://www.frot.co.nz


Sort:  

This made me laugh, especially since my latest photography post had the nice line of techno geek specifications under each photo. (Which I don’t usually post) Serves me right I guess. :)

Nice bird photos on your post - I haven't seen those birds before.

Here is a photo of a seagull standing on Gandhi's head that I took outside the Wellington railway station.

I like that post very much! It's very funny!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89