My Digital Photography Learning Curve - 3 Key Skills

in #photography5 years ago

I’m certainly still in learning mode, but as I’ve gotten more involved in photography, I’ve learned that photography in the digital age requires three primary skill sets. I’ve also learned that at my level of expertise (beginner), it is challenging to achieve all of these skills consistently.

First,

I’ve tried to learn how to compose a shot that tells a story and draws the viewer into the scene. I have to say my experience so far is that I take a lot of shots that don’t achieve this, but occasionally find a composition that clicks with me and hopefully with others. I tend to rely heavily on long exposure shots as a compensation for not being able to find more interesting compositions. In photographing the rivers and streams typically featured in my shots, there are usually rocks, leaves or small water features that I can place in the foreground and then use the flow of the water to lead the eye up the stream to a larger water feature typically in the background.

9833F26B-4872-469A-96D0-A5E3C4A40EF4.jpeg

Second,

I am trying to learn how to operate the more advanced features of my camera settings and how to use accessories such as filters to achieve desired effects. I’ve been experimenting with manual mode on my Sony A7ii for the last few outings and had mixed success so far. For an old guy like me, there’s a lot to remember to do before pushing that shutter release. I’ve come away with out of focus images, focused but on the wrong part of the image, blown out highlights, or not enough light. A couple of weeks ago I watched my remote shutter release come off the camera cable and very quickly disappear in the rapids I was standing next to. In the photo above, I somehow blew the focus and nothing was particularly sharp. The photo below is sharper in focus, but because of the scale of the scene, the composition is not as dramatic as the first one.

5E4F0EE3-7617-4A40-AA80-AE92BD04B0AE.jpeg

And third,

I’ve tried to learn how to use photo editing software to get the most out of my shots and make corrections that I couldn’t or forgot to make in camera when I took the shot. Software features like mask layers, filters, tone mapping, and gradients can be very complicated, but there are great resources on line for learning these features. Trying to use these features to achieve an editing “style” that is esthetically pleasing to me and works with the landscape photos I’m typically taking is a journey and I feel I am right at the beginning. I tried to edit the shot below to be consistent in style with the first two and I’m interested in your feedback on whether I’ve achieved that consistency and what you think of the style. I typically like warmer images with more saturation and contrast. That’s what I hoped to achieve with these photos.

922AD7DA-A95F-415A-9B40-F976A9A2F690.jpeg

Any and all feedback is always appreciated.

A4F77E02-90D6-4760-95AC-7832D7CAF9FA.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I really like em. Waterfalls are some of my favourite photography subjects (i've shot a lot of them). I think you have blown the highlights and lost the detail in the water in these which is easy to do. Its always better to underexpose slightly, especially if you are shooting in RAW as you can recover more from the shadows in the editing software than you can in the highlights. Not sure if you are using a polariser, but if not, get one. Will help reduce glare on the water and rocks.

Good stuff though, look forward to seeing more from you.

Thanks for the comment. I just bought the wide angle lens and don’t have a CP filter that fits the new lens. It is on my wish list. I tried to tone down the highlights in post but, it obviously wasn’t enough. Stayed tuned, hopefully I’ll improve. 👌

I like them and those are good points you raise, and I think your on the right track, that said I am not claiming to be an expert I am still learning photography as well, I do use lightroom and Photoshop but honestly only a small portion of what they can do and have so much more to learn

Thanks. I use Affinity Photo and it has way more features than I currently understand, but I pick up something new every time I use it.

thats the cool thing both taking and editing photos finding out new things :)

I havent heard of affinity I must go and take a look

It’s very powerful and it’s only a one time fee instead of a subscription.

Yes I saw that when. I took a look, I wonder how steep a learning curve it would be to move from Adobe, Maybe something I will consider when I retire

Yeah, I’ve spent a lot of time since retiring watching instructional videos on YouTube. You’ll get there.

That’s something I may have to do as well

Great explanations of how you approach photography. Should chat with @beautifulbullies sometime. She just went through a class and maybe you two could swap tips😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow.

I'm really only beginning to start to learn how to do real photography. This was cool.

I'm getting a chance to play on a DSLR in a week or two when I go away on holidays, and I hope to be able to improve my skills.

Glad you found it useful. Have fun!

Hello @dabeckster
Beautiful editing my friend..
i like your art. it is awesome..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97