Trying out the massive Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D lens at dusk in Copenhagen. Enjoy the twilight!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


Managed to get my hands on the 1,3 kg professional beast that is a Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D lens yesterday, courtesy of @meanmommy33 ( many thanks!). We both went for a walk around Copenhagen's inner lakes and a bit around the center at Nørreport. All shots in this post were taken with the 80-200 mm (apart from the top one).

The image of myself at the top with the lens in question was taken by @meanmommy33 . She also did a post about this evening HERE. :)


I decided to put this massive lens to, hopefully, good use since I could take advantage of the long hours of day light we get in Denmark around this time of the year (sunset around 21:45). This also brings about a long, beautiful twilight...



Nikon D700, Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D, f/2.8, 1/80 sec, 80 mm, ISO 1600.





@meanmommy33 enjoying one of her Greek, Karelia cigarettes.

















We have these signs in Copenhagen that count and display the daily and yearly number of cyclists that passes by them.









Hope you like the post and let me know what you think about the shots. :)

Sort:  

It is interesting for your/my/our followers to see how different photographer see things. I mean, we were together, at the same place, at the same time, and we did take very diverse shots - maybe we should make this an actual photo project ;)

yes, why not make it a side by side comparison. sounds quite interesting.

it's decided then! :) Thanks for the support!! :D

Great! I'm looking forward to see the results. I'm excited.

Looks like a keeper in low light!

It most certainly is... Bit on the heavy side, well, a bit more but I could live with one to be honest. I really like your work so I will keep an eye out for your posts. :)

very good shots, as last time. upvoted.

Many thanks! Greatly appreciated!

OK @creutzy, those are good photos, but… where are your impressions on working with this lens? 😊 Is focus fast enough for your style of shooting? Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you for your input and for the resteem! You are absolutely right...I should have commented more on how the lens was to operate. Unfortunately this one is in need of service and if you use the auto-focus function it is really squeaky and because of this I only used manual focus which works like a charm. Not ideal for fast moving subjects tough. The range of the lens is fantastic and really versatile (80 - 200 mm) and so is the aperture (f/2.8). It does the trick in low light, which is great if you are shooting hand held. Mind you it is really heavy, hard to move around with all day. You also have to move the tripod release to the lens instead of the camera body. this is to attach the tripod to the lens instead of the camera because of the weight and length of this lens. You also need strong tripod. I use a Manfrotto 290 Light and it should do the trick although I didn't use it with this lens on this occasion. Oh and the leather case with the red velvet it comes in (the lens) is amazing too...really high quality piece of glass made in Japan. Hope it helps someone...

I whished, my lens was that light. The animal pictures I posted were shot with my Sigma 150-600 S, which is about 2.9 kg.
I had the classic Nikon AF-S VR 70-200mm 2.8E FL ED from a friend on a D610. It did extremely well with shooting ducks and textures. But I find it a bit expensive...

Wow! That Sigma sure is a real beast. I really like the shots you got with it. Must be a good workout to carry it around all day. The Nikon is expensive unfortunately. But on the upside it is really good quality and tends to hold value quite well.

Absolutely correct. It is a high-quality lens for relatively small money with weather-sealing. Regarding the price, canon is even more expensive. I had no choice, I needed a Sony-sensor, what the Nikon offered. With the older Canon-Sensors, you get less dynamic range, which leads into longer exposure times. The value of my body dropped a lot. If I had gone for the D810, it would be better. But I don't mind. The results are pretty good.

The results are amazing! Stick with it, after all the tools are not the weakest link, not at that price point, at least in my humble opinion. The best I could afford on my student budget in order to move on to a full frame sensor was my D700, which I got used but with just about 40k frames on it so it has loads of life left. I am just now coming to terms with the upgrade in performance from a crop sensor, especially with a faster lens in low light at higher ISO... I would really need years on this body before I could say that it has reached its limitations in my hands (if that ever happens) and that I would need to move on. That being said, if money was no issue, I might get a Sony a7...just because I could go light with a full frame in the mountains and get nice shots at night and at dusk. I do suspect I won't enjoy using it as much as this solid Nikon. But...it would also be nice to shoot video...mine doesn't.

I do! Yes, I have seen very good pictures taken with mobiles and also very bad pictures taken with Fullframe. The D700 was a very good camera. 40K is perfectly new. Mine has now about 50-60K and works like on day one. APSC and FF are both really good. I was also looking for APSC. It is a perfect format for Wildlife-shooting and you get more lenses. Sony A7RII - A dream of a camera and a battery-drainer. Video is another issue on Nikon, but it's getting better. For a light ride the Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II is very interesting, but as 4/3-sensor relatively expensive.

yeah, I do want video on my next one. And I am kinda invested in Nikon now as I also have a Speedlight and a couple of their lenses. I know what you mean about that Olympus and then there is the Sony... In the end I just know I will have to probably skip either and wait for a Nikon with video like the D810 to drop a bit in price on the used market. And just put up with the weight...if only I could train my knees too.

Beautiful shots. Fantastic lens.

Thank you very much! Just realized I didn't include enough info about using it. But thanks to @photo-trail , I added it in the comments section.

Congratulations for the beautiful images that you have captured dear friend @creutzy

Thank you very much for your kind words @jlufer !

Thank you! (although I am not sure which one it is that you like) :)

Your all shots are amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50