The Value Of A Wedding Celebration: Is It That Important And Really Worth The Money?

in #photography7 years ago

A wedding comes with a giant price tag especially the celebrations after the ceremony. For some it is all about showcasing the bride and for others the huge celebration party after the ceremony, no matter what the cost. Trying to outdo the “Jones’s” or impressing the guest is the most important goal. It is sad how often you hear couples say that they cannot get married until they can afford the wedding of their dreams, which for some it could take up to five years of saving.

20170603_181546.jpg

The sentiment of a wedding day hasn’t changed over the years as most people often speak about it as “The most important day in a person’s life”, but is it really? I would rather say it is one of the most important days of your life just as the day you met your partner for life.

The stress having the perfect wedding, pleasing the family and guests, the overwhelming details involved in both the ceremony and reception can sometimes take the joy out of the entire event and can even split families apart. Brides cannot believe how fast it went and often say that everything was a blur. They can hardly remember anything and regret the fact that they have missed out on so much due to exhaustion. Then we do not even speak about the stress knowing that there will be huge bills waiting for you after your honeymoon. Is all this really worth it?

20170603_181346.jpg

Being part of my nieces wedding preparations and after attending her wedding on Saturday made me think about "Why do we do this?". Was the amount of stress and money that went into it really worth while?. Do not get me wrong, It was an amazing venue, the food was excellent and the people truly enjoyed the evening with the bride and groom.

20170603_174758.jpg

Sometimes we don’t even know or lose sight on why we are planning the wedding celebrations after the ceremony. The wedding is really there to celebrate your love for each other. It is not about the perfect dress, the most exquisite venue, the breath-taking flowers, delectable food or the important people you invite. The only real value of a wedding ceremony is to celebrate the spoken promise, the vows of marriage before God and witnesses, it is the beginning of a lifelong commitment, a bond of two people becoming one in purpose.

20170603_163024.jpg

The wedding ceremony is the most important as it sets the tone for the day and very often gets neglected.

The celebrations after the ceremony can be great fun but it can be done without breaking your bank and neglecting more important things. Look at your finances, decide what is worth more to you and then arrange a wedding according to that.

20170603_164651.jpg

Having organised many weddings myself and looking back on my own, my advice for brides to be will be as follow:

Do not look at a wedding as the “Best day of your Life”, but rather as the “Beginning of the Best still to come”.

Take your circumstances into consideration and what is most important when planning your wedding.

Family can be quite demanding, decide before hand how much influence you will allow them to have on your special day (even if they pay for it) and take control (it is your day and your memories after all).

Plan well in advance so that during the month before the wedding you only need to see to it that all preparations are on track.

If you are in the fortunate position rather get a wedding planner or other people than your own family or bridal party to take care of the preparations.

Make a 100% sure that your dress designer, makeup artist, hairstylist and florist can do the job you expect them to do, your instructions to them must be crystal clear.

Proper planning and follow up is crucial, especially for preventing stressful situations.

Do not leave anything for the last minute (even month before might be to short).

REMEMBER: YOU CANNOT PLEASE EVERYONE!!!

All photos taken with a Samsung Galaxy S7.

Keep loving, smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!

Sort:  

I so agree with you and your article about weddings. Now a days it becomes too much of a show and production and in many cases, not so fun because of all of the stress associated with it. I love your following comment: Do not look at a wedding as the “Best day of your Life”, but rather as the “Beginning of the Best still to come”. Fortunately my daughter rather travel than spend the money on a wedding. Have a nice week ahead!

Thank you cabbagepatch. She is a very cleaver young lady then. Hope you will also enjoy a lovely week.

AWWW! This truly made my morning.

I am glad you liked the post lookitsajay.

Is a good snapshot keeps a moment!

Thank you chl. The first photo is my favourite.

nice, thanks for sharing

Thank you riostarr, it is great when people appreciate the things you do.

I agree that the wedding cannot be the main focus. A wedding is just the beginning, like you said. The big investment must be in a lifetime of each spouse helping their partner to grow every day by being a best friend, helper, and champion for each other.

Thank you for your comment joechiappetta. I think we often forget what is important and where I priorities should be when we try to hard to please those around us

I completely see your point. Weddings can be beautiful, for sure, but they require so much! Two of my sisters eloped to avoid the very things you mention in this post. Your wedding is supposed to romantic, and if a huge wedding only makes you stressed, reconsider!

That is exactly how I felt after my wedding, gringalicious. I wanted to elope but my family said I will always feel the loss of not having a wedding ceremony. If I knew then what I know now and could turn back time, I would elope and use that money on things which is more important. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this matter.

My aunt had a huge wedding, I was a flower girl, I think I was like 6 years old. The whole family was involved and it was a stress load crazy. In fact, just the other day, my aunt said she would not do it over again. On the day of her wedding, the person in charge of flowers called her at 6am and the night before, the person in charge of the reception called her at 1am. So, she only had around 5 hours of sleep.

Oh no, that must have been awful. We had our share of stress this past week. No electricity at the hairdresser, bad hairstyles. Florist not doing her job and the bridal party had to assist her at the end, believe me the list of things that could possibly go wrong and did is never ending. I would love to still see a wedding which runs a 100% smooth.

That sound like no fun at all.

Thanks for the tips! Keep it up!

I enjoy sharing my two cents worth on subjects close to my heart jiajun123.

Your niece looks amazing at her wedding! Such fun!

Thank you melkay, she would love this compliment.

This is an incredible post for me and my fiance to reflect on. We have been engaged for over a year and are starting to plan our wedding. The biggest challenge is not leaving anyone out. For me thats not a big deal, but for my fiance who has a large close nit family its becoming quite challenging. Secondly, we live in the SF bay area so everything is very expensive. Ok enough of my venting.
I'm gonna try to think of the wedding like this:

"Do not look at a wedding as the “Best day of your Life”, but rather as the “Beginning of the Best still to come”."

Thanks

Thank you for your response kodiakbear. It is very hard to not step on peoples toes when you have a budget to consider and my heart bleeds for you as I know how difficult this is going to be for the both of you. I wish you the best with the wedding preparations and truly hope you will be able to enjoy the journey without too many challenges.

Congratulations @crazymumzysa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69