How to Make the perfect FLUFFY WHITE RICE - Recipe

in #photography6 years ago

How easy it is to make rice right?
Well, here its back to the basics of a nice pot of fluffy white rice to serve alongside a dinner dish.
I remember the first few times I tried to make rice- yes, simple white rice... It either came out too dry or tasteless... It took a few times to try it out but I got it :) Since rice is almost present in every meal in our family - I had to get it perfect!

Lately many people have been asking me how I make my white rice, so lets start from the basics.... and from there you can add anything to your rice to make it more interesting and special. In my next few posts will share more rice recipes as shown in the pictures below.

RECIPE

How to cook WHITE FLUFFY RICE :


Ingredients:


2 cups Jasmine Rice
2.5 cups water
2 tablespoons oil
1 tablespoon salt

Method:

  • Rinse the rice until water runs clear and drain.
  • Place all ingredients in a non stick pot on medium- high heat and let the water come to a boil.
  • Stir the rice, place lid on and let it simmer on medium - low heat for 12 minutes. Check to see if the water has evaporated. If not- let cook for a few more minutes (Note: Do not lift lid while cooking since the steam inside is what allows the rice to cook properly).
  • Turn off heat and fluff: Fluff and stir gently with wooden spoon and let sit in pot a few more minutes with lid half open.

Serve and Enjoy!

*There are lots of varieties of rice to choose from (Jasmine, Persian, Basmati etc.). Each type will need a bit less or a little more water to cook with. The quantities here are for JASMINE rice.

20180117_152434.jpg

20180119_090007.jpg

After you know the basics of making delicious fluffy white rice, the options from there are limitless to how you make it and what you put in it ( lentils, spices, vegetables, etc.) here are a few examples of what you can do/how to serve your rice:

MADJADRA (rice with lentils, onion and spices):


CARROT RICE:


RED RICE WITH CARAMELISED ONION STRIPS


In my next posts I will share more of these delicious rice recipes to add to the dinner table or any meal of the day.
See you soon!

20180119_090023.jpg

Pictures are original and mine, taken with my super professional camera-
on my Galaxy 7 phone!

FOR MORE OF MY RECENT SIMPLE HOME RECIPES:

Thank you for reading,

Much love,

@cooknbake

Sort:  

I feel so hungry..

Glad you liked it @olahvivienne!🤗

You are right once you get the basic the sky is the limit! I have a basic bread recipe like that as well. I have cooked for over a 1000 people and I had to rely on the basics of building flavors to take a 10 serving recipe up to 1000.
Good stuff can't wait to check the rest of your food out!

Thanks for the great comment:) wow, cooking for 1000 people must be challenging! But im sure its very satisfying in the end😄
Welcome to steemit @antarctic-chef! im looking forward to see your posts
Heres a link that I ran into that can be helpful to start with:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-makes-a-personal-welcome-to-bit-sp-and-to-all-newcomers-a-comprehensive-guide
Good luck 🤗 hope to see u around soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74