My Top 10 Essential Budget Photo Accessories

in #photography7 years ago

1111112211212133.JPG

I've spend thousands over the years on lenses and cameras, but I would be lost without these essential, affordable tools.


I wanted to discuss some of my favorite affordable photography accessories. These are most useful to me, but depending on what style you shoot, your mileage may vary. Obviously every serious shooter should have a spare camera battery and SD card at the very minimum. You might also consider some of the items listed here. Incidentally, if you're not a photographer, any of these items could make great gifts for that photographer in your life.


Godox-80cm-80-cm-32-5-in-1-Godox-5-in-1-Collapsible-portable-Lighting-Flash.jpg

5 In 1 Reflector


It may only set you back 20 bucks, but a collapsible 5 in 1 reflector is extremely useful for most types of photography. They can be used to diffuse light, reflect light, block light, and generally shape light, in studio or on location. If you're new to photography avoid the temptation to think reflectors are for beginners who have yet to advance to strobe lighting. This is absolutely not the case. Many pro shooters use reflectors exclusively and might never shoot with strobes. If I could have only one accessory on this whole list, it would be a reflector.



foto-ring3.jpg

Roundflash


I make no secret of my passion for this product. In fact, I'm constantly singing it's praises. The Roundflash turns your regular on-camera flash into a large soft ring light. Fantastic for macro work, or as a soft, subtle fill light. I even use it off-camera sometimes, because, why not?! It folds up into a small bag about the size of a regular DSLR, so you can bring it anywhere with ease.

44444.JPG

The creators of Roundflash have continued to innovate and expand their product line. While there are some cheap knock-offs available online, I'm glad to pay a little extra to get superb quality, and support their efforts.



wwwwwwww.jpg

Water Spray Bottle

Such a simple thing, but can add life to an otherwise boring macro shot. Don't keep it in the same backpack as your camera though. Just in case!

Check it out, the result of the Roundflash along with water spray bottle. See the Roundflash ring shape in the reflections?



fishcoldshoe.jpg

Quick Release Cold Shoe


If you shoot off-camera-flash, you'll no doubt want to mount flashes on stands and pods. The traditional adapter did the job fine for a long time, but since I discovered these quick release adapters, it has made life so much easier. Your flash slips into place and is released at the push of a flap. No more skin-ripping fiddling. First there was the "Frio", and later came the fish-shaped knock-offs. I bought a dozen and gave some to my strobist friends. Fantastic product.


donabate_fun.jpg

Shoot Through Umbrella


If you're doing off-camera flash, sure you can buy expensive light modifiers, but the humble shoot-through umbrella is extremely cheap, fast and very useful for lighting in studio or on the go. In a pinch, you can use a large white umbrella to diffuse the sun too. Mine lives in the boot of my car and has come in very useful.



ccvcvcvc.jpg

Caden Quick Release Strap


This is a rather individual choice, and everyone has their own way. I love quick release shoulder straps when I have extra bits and pieces to carry. The Caden strap is cheap, but well made.


22323232.jpg

Flash "Pistol" Handle


When I'm lucky enough to have an assistant, I'll often ask them to be a "voice activated light stand". Working this way, you can free yourself from the anchors of a tripod and be dynamic and spontaneous. This flash handle means your assistant can hold up the flash without accidentally hitting any buttons. Simple but useful. These are about 5 bucks.


122111.jpg

Clamps & Pegs

Various sized clamps and pegs are essential if you're shooting portraits, especially fashion. They can hold curtains, backdrops or props in place, and are especially useful for discretely pegging a garment to make it fit better.


wwwddd.JPG

Gorillapod

Depending on the model you get, a Gorillapod can hold a camera or speedlight in position, acting as a rugged tripod, or wrapping around a tree branch or fence. These are extremely useful and versatile products. There are knock-offs, but the original from Joby is worth the little extra premium. If you have any doubt about what size to get, go for the bigger option.

zzxzxzxzxzxcc.jpg

Another great clamp for speedlights is the "super clamp", above. It's more suited to studio shooting than the Gorillapod.


23232.JPG

Plamp

There are a gazillion ways to fix your macro props in place. The "Plamp" is my favorite. If you're shooting macro regularly, a plamp will come in extremely useful.


I hope you found some inspiration there. Perhaps you'll treat yourself with some of your Steemit earnings. I'm happy to stand by my recommendations of all of these products. If you pick something up, please let me know how you get on.

Do you use any of these products already? What are your essential budget photography accessories?



Words by @condra.
Images: Main - Model Merrin, also "models on beach" by @condra. Roundflash photos from roundflash.com official site. Plamp image from Wimberly, https://www.tripodhead.com. Gorillapod image from Joby.com. Others from eBay.

Sort:  

I have been looking into getting better camera stuff, but budget is basically non-existent. Thanks for this, helps me narrow down what I really should look for!!! What do you think of white balloons to soften flash??? I saw it as a hack online.

Thanks for the comment. I LOVE DIY flash modifier hacks. Especially as they can be very cheap and still useful. I've experimented with white balloons and they work well, though at the expense of control. Honestly I haven't used DIY stuff much since I got the Roundflash. It's fantastic. If you're on a budget, the knock-offs are pretty good.

Following you back by the way! Cheers!

I need one of those gorilla pods for sure!

Ah I use mine loads, especially for hair lights.

Yes, yes, and more yes on everything listed here, particularly the bounce/reflector/skrim system. I have a huge, 5ft bounce/reflector that we use, but it's overkill. The thing is huge! On a windy day, it's a miracle if it doesn't turn into a sail and blow me away. And the dressing is a pain to deal with between shots. Definitely in the market for a simpler system where I can alternate through them faster. The one you posted looks like what I'm looking for, too.
This is the one I have:

Thanks for the resteem BTW. Will return the favor soon.

I feel your pain. I have one of the huge ones as well as the regular sized one. The huge one is almost never used. I think I've used it as a quick n dirty backdrop more than an actual light modifier.

One really simple hack I have seen a couple of people do for softening flash is putting some white paper tape over the flash on their camera.

One of the chaps who works the nightclub photography scene in Galway used to do that, and based on the quality of his output, I reckon it worked pretty alright as a "quick fix".

Yeah, once it makes the light source bigger, essentially, it's softening the light. I've used a large white bounce card to soften my fill flash in a pickle, as you can see here:

11695021_10206416295222384_1954053436283020217_n.jpg

Very nice list of gadgets! I would go for a smaller, more portable flash diffuser like a Lightsphere Collapsible... Also a good, important little gadget could be a Giottos Rocket Blaster or similar if you change lenses a lot. Really helps get rid of dust on your sensor and the consequently annoying dust specs on your images.

Ahh how could I forget the Rocket Blaster?! Good call!

It really is useful... I once payed almost 100 euros to get the sensor on my camera professionally cleaned and then I got dust on it 2 weeks later. Bought one of those, never had the problem again. I use it in the bathroom after a shower. I air out the bathroom for a few minutes to let the moisture escape and use the Blaster in there as there is much less dust in the air...

Great share, thanks.

Welcome. Following you now.

Nice list! Some of these I currently use, some are new to me, thanks!

great tips thanks so much !!

I need to get one of those straps! The round flash attachment looks useful too (I know you make great use of flash!)

Love this post, thanks for the tips! I love the simple water spray bottle, I never would have thought of that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44