Eagle Nebula and Pillars of Creation (M16)

in #photography7 years ago

M16

The Eagle Nebula (catalogued as M16, and also known as the Star Queen Nebula and The Spire) is a young open cluster of stars in the constellation Serpens, discovered by Jean-Philippe de Chéseaux in 1745–46. Both the "Eagle" and the "Star Queen" refer to visual impressions of the dark silhouette near the center of the nebula, an area made famous as the "Pillars of Creation" photographed by the Hubble Space Telescope. The nebula contains several active star-forming gas and dust regions, including the Pillars of Creation. The cluster associated with the nebula has approximately 8100 stars, at a distance about 7000 l.y. (dixit Wikipedia)

M16

This photo was taken from my garden with a scope (Newtonian 200/1000), my old mount (EQ6) and a CCD camera (Atik One 6.0), in black and white with R,G,B and L filters, for a total of 2 hours exposure in July 2015.

Technical detail of the photo here: http://www.astrobin.com/196516/

If you want more information, ask me in comment !

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography.

Sort:  

Another amazing shot. I've been itching to get out myself to capture Saturn (Closest approach soon!) but it's been too cloudy all week.

Yes ! Post it when you will have done it!

Finally managed to capture some footage of Saturn last night!

Will do!

Amazing photos and informative backstory. Thank you! Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks lot ! Keep posted, i've a lot of them to share!

Is astrophotography your hobby or a job? Either way I really like those photos. One of my dreams is to be out in nowhere and be able to see the milky way with my own eyes. But this will do for now! Thanks for sharing! :)

It s just a hobby :-) i've the same dream :)

Dude, this is stunning (as are most of the pictures in your blog) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50