Saturn's closest approach to Earth

in #photography7 years ago

Saturn and Earth are currently in opposition to the sun, which means that we are as close to Saturn as we'll be in 2017.

I was out in the garden last night trying to capture the best footage of the event I could with my Nikon P900.

I captured around a minute of video footage, and then used stacking software to extract the best (clearest and sharpest) 4% of the frames, align them and stack them on top of each other to average out the noise and atmospheric fluctuations.

Sort:  

Very nice work!

At it again with the telescope camera, I see. Closing my curtains now 8-).

Ah, have you moved home to Saturn now? ;)

I'm rather closer, that's why I'm worried 8-).

lol :D

Very cool. Has anyone managed to photograph the ISS?

YOU ARE THE MAN! I've got to follow you and check all your postings. My interest in astronomy began in 1959. But my Parkinson's keeps me from patricipating.

Thanks! Yeah, I've got quite a bit of astronomy stuff on my SteemIt blog, though I don't have a telescope. Just my Nikon P900 camera :)

Also, I have plenty of stuff on my YouTube channel.

Where are you located? Could lend you one.

Central UK

Very nice! I want to attempt a shot of Saturn but my longest lens is only 250mm.

Try it! If you've got plenty of resolution on your sensor you might be able to crop and get something :-)

Absolutely Cool! I never saw Saturn life! I didn't even expected it can be viewed with like this, with the ring and all. I suppose you used a telescope?

No, it was taken with my Nikon P900 camera. It's got a focal length of 2000mm equiv.

Super Cool!

Once again, nice shoot!

You are so lucky to have these photos
Thank You for sharing

Thank you! I've just ordered solar filter for the camera, so expect some sun photos/video soon :)

makes me feel so small...

Reminds me of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy quote...
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space."

like the best movie in the world... :p yes,I'm a geek

I preferred the old TV series, but looks a little dated now!

dated but timeless ;)

oh yeah I first saw this post now, as I have told you today, the earth is FLAT... so enjoy your imaginary space falling apart while watching this:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44