A visit to Syria

in #photography6 years ago

The best trip that I have ever taken was in Syria. I was there with a group of friends in April 2009.

To this day, I have never felt so attached to a place. Let me show you why...

In the Qualamun Mountains reminigram scaled.jpg

The Qalamun Mountains are the northeastern portion of the Anti-Lebanon Mountains. Located northeast of Damascus, they run from Barada River Valley, in the southwest, to the city of Hisyah in the northeast.

The Qalamun Mountains are home to the Cherubim Monastery at Saidnaya.

(The photo is a reminigram. I invented this type of digital photography and will tell you more about it in a future post.)

Palmyra copy scaled.jpg

One of my favorite photos. The camel was lying there on its own, waiting for its master to come back. I didn't dare move closer for fear I would scare it away. But in the end, the shot turned out looking better than if I had zoomed on the animal itself.

Arc monumental (3) scaled.jpg

Arc monumental scaled.JPG

I remember taking this picture very vividly. I was very sick on that day (Traveller's Stomach) and had a hard time keeping up with the group's pace. So, I decided to try to enjoy the view rather than walking fast. When I travel or visit a place, I like to take my time and look around.

Just as I was marvelling at the wonderful spectacle of Old Palmyra's ruins, I heard voices behind me. I turned around and this is the shot you see.

I have been told that it looks like a picture from a movie set. To this day, it remains one of my all-time favorites.

(Photo number 2 is a reminigram.)

Palmyra copy scaled-2.jpg

Near Old Palmyra

Naabeq scaled.jpg

Also known as the monastery of Saint Moses the Abyssinian, (Deir) Mar Musa is a monastic community of the Syriac Catholic Church located 80 km north of Damascus, in Syria. The main church boasts frescoes dating back to the 11th and 12th centuries.

According to Wikipedia, "An ancient building, stone circles, lines and tombs were recently discovered near the monastery in 2009 by archaeologist Robert Mason of the Royal Ontario Museum. Mason suggested that the ruins may date back 10,000 years and were likely constructed in Neolithic period (such as the Heavy Neolithic Qaraoun culture of the Anti-Lebanon). Further excavation and research, into this discovery, has been halted due to the threat of violence caused by the Syrian civil war."

Sergiopolis scaled.jpg

Built in the 9th century BC, Resafa was a desert outpost then a city located in the Roman province of Euphratensis, in modern-day Syria. Its ramparts and buildings were erected by Emperor Justinian.

Resafa was a major stop on the caravan routes linking Aleppo, Dura Europos, and Palmyra. However, since there was no spring or running water, it depended on large and impressive underground cisterns to capture the winter and spring rains.

Resafa's original name, Sergiopolis, is a reference to Saint Sergius, a martyred Christian soldier who was buried there. In the 4th century, it became a major Christian pilgrimage center.

Resafa is now an archaeological site near the city of Ar Raqqah. It has well preserved walls and ruins. The Basilica of Saint Sergius, in particular, is not something you would expect to see in the middle of a desert!

Ville morte Jéradéh scaled.jpg

Jeradeh is part of a group of 700 abandoned settlements (40 villages) in northwest Syria between Aleppo and Idlib. They contain numerous remains of Christian Byzantine architecture.

Most villages were built between the 1st and 7th centuries and were abandoned a couple of hundred years later.

Citadel of Aleppo scaled.jpg

One of the oldest and largest castles in the world, the Citadel of Aleppo is a medieval fortified palace in the centre of the old city of Aleppo. The Greeks, Byzantines, Mamluks, and Ayyubids (among others) occupied it. The latter erected a majority of its structures in the 12th and 13th centuries.

Recent excavations uncovered the remains of an important Bronze Age neo-Hittite temple dating back to the 3rd millennia B.C.

The Citadel has received significant damage in the ongoing Syrian Civil War.

Armana column scaled.jpg

This column, which is located in Taladah, near Aleppo, Syria, is famous for being the "house" of Saint Simeon Stylites the Elder. The ascetic saint lived 37 years at its top because he wanted to get away from the increasing number of people who visited him to ask for prayers and advice. Boys from the nearby village brought him food.

I hope you enjoyed this post!


For more photography, click the image below.

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

@cendrinemedia as always very beautiful...happy you had a great experience in Syria...I have two great friends and mentors from Syria. They are a very meticulous people, great value system and great respect...land of kings if I remember correctly. Thank you for the wonderful memories as well, beautiful work.

Thank you!

What really blew my mind over there is the kindness of people. Many of them are poor (they often live among the ruins of buildings) and yet, they are always smiling. It's one of the most welcoming countries I have ever visited.

Congratulations! This excellent post was chosen by the new curation initiative of the @postpromoter content promotion service to receive a free upvote!

This post exemplifies the type of great content that we at @postpromoter enjoy reading and would love to see more of on the Steem platform. Keep up the good work!

Thank you SO much!

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Of course I have enjoyed reading about your trip and watching these marvelous photos! Excellent, I love it. My question is, what is left of these beautiful buildings after Aleppo was bombed? What do you know about that?

I don't know much about it, as the whole situation is breaking my heart. I was in Aleppo for only a day and visited other places, as you can see in the post. The arch in Palmyra was completely destroyed and they are rebuilding it with the remnants. But that's about it.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Syria is really beautiful and you captured it deceny. Good one

Thank you! Have you been there?

No, not really. Pictures are depicting beauty.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=cendrinemedia
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-visit-to-syria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looking at this pics I want to go too!

I want to go back as well...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70