Not usually friends!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure if these are the two swans that normally nest in the storm runoff pond just down the street from my home, but I'd like to think they are.

IMG_9379.JPG

Yesterday the pond was taken over by more than a hundred Canada Geese migrating somewhere, and the swans were nowhere to be seen. Normally the swans can hold their own but they obviously decided to leave and let the geese occupy the pond for a day or so. Whether or not these two are the two from the pond, it's quite unusual to see swans and geese so close together, and so unconcerned about each other's presence. I suspect it's because colder weather returned, including some snow, and this small break in the ice is one of the few open spots on the bay.

Bonus - two photos taken along the shore as I looked for my two swans...

IMG_9372.JPG

two more geese checking out the bay and marsh, and...

IMG_9363.JPG

a small park along the shore, with an equally small dock positioned to roll into the water once the ice is gone. To the right of the open water by the marsh there are two more swans, but they are very hard to pick out given the snow.

Sort:  

it happens sometime when same class and gene are mate each other for make the moments enjoyable, outstanding photography.

Thanks for the feedback!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

So much snow and the sun. I'm gonna miss winter :)

Except this was a very nice day - there are some days I want to be in Portugal and wish winter would just go away!

really this is so beautiful and excellent photography....

Thanks for the feedback!

snow or white background always makes a pretty good support for photography, and geese and duck make it beautiful, i preferred with your third picture...

Thanks for the feedback, I like that shot too!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34