First Place Image

There is a lake in the Uintah Mountains in Utah, USA. It is called Mirror Lake. Settled in a valley with mountains all around, the water will get very still and reflect the stars. I took this image for a Photography competition called the Photography Decathlon (more on that in the next post).

I submitted it to a competition and won first place! This image is about 180 single images stacked on top of one another in photoshop. The entire sequence is about 3-4 hours long.

Leave some comments on what you think. STARTRAILS BRANDON.jpg

Sort:  

about your Mirror Lake photography, I must say that you really did one extraordinary shot, my friend! You did give me the excitement for me to include that wonderful jewel on my travel bucket list. With your shot, you captured the perfect angle reflection of that mountain together with the water and Hayden Peak. And with your masterpiece, it truly illustrates the place's perfect sanctity for getting disconnected from the outside world into finding one's self through nature's beautiful serenity. I thank you for capturing that image and sharing with everyone, you perfectly showcase the beauty of the Mirror Lake. One more thing, through your picture I can't wait to savor those pine trees, experience the wildlife, and most of all dangle my fingers on the cold water of the lake. I can't wait what you have experienced their when you captured that beauty in JPEG form, I can't wait to breathe the fresh and cool air of Mirror Lake in Uintah Mountains in Utah, USA.

CHEERS TO MORE WONDERFUL SHOT MY FRIEND!

Still one of my faves - it's on my wall! :D

I wish I could have this hanging on my wall as well. ;)

I'm guessing that could be arranged? :)

Hi! Thank you for your comment! If you would like a print we can get you one :)

Yes, that would be awesome. How would you recommend doing it? I'm based in Germany so shipping might be an issue. Do you sell them in digital format?

  • Firstly
    @brandongarrett i would like to welcome you to this great platform where blogging actually pays

  • Secondly,
    The picture looks surreal with an hypnotic calming effect

  • Thirdly
    I have got to say being new on steemit might be tough and you might think of quitting. i would advice you dont cause Steemit is the future. We have lots of people who are helping newbies like you feel welcome in this community.

  • Lastly
    Wanna let you know, if you can spend that much hours on the image spending it on steemit also and you would be amazed by the results you get

  • Sidenote
    Put this at the back of you mind, you would need it to survive in the community
    Persistence
    Patience
    Hardwork
    Non-plagairised post
    Comment without tweeting

Thank you for your advice! I am excited to get started on Steemit.

This is a lovely (180 image, image) it looks as if you created a black hole in the universe.

Have you thought about submitting your art to @mariannewest’s freewriting challenge? She uses images and prompts to encourage people to write. I’ve participated in a few and they are really plumping up my blog with lots of awesome original writing.

I look forward to seeing more of your work, I’ve followed you.

-stopped by from @danielsaori minnow support project

Oh...dude...you need to be tagging this with #photofeed!

is that the best one these days?

Yes, it appears to be - it's just getting started.

Awesome work Brandon!
I have selected your post in my weekly Comment Challenge. I have re-steemed and given you a full upvote. I hope I will be able to bring you some attention.

I see you have a lot of potentials and you could do great on Steemit. With the help of your external websites and a more detailed introduction post, you could get an amazing start on this platform.

Please ask if you have any questions how to go about things. I hope you will also get lots of advice from my comment challenge.
SteemOn!!

WOW, I didn't realize the impact that you would have on this post. 56 comments from the nicest people, leaving genuine comments. I appreciate you helping me out.

Brandon

My pleasure! I was hoping I could have brought some more high paying votes, but it will come with time. Early on the most important thing is to network and build connections with like-minded people.

I hope you take my advice and consider a new introduction post. There are several posts giving advice how to best layout such post, here is one example I could find: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@shayne/steemit-new-user-tips-introduceyourself-introduction-post
Also go to the Trending page for the introduceyourself to get some inspiration: https://steemit.com/trending/introduceyourself
Please let me know if you have any questions.

At first glance of the photo @brandongarrett took it looks like one of the best long-exposure shots I’ve ever seen! One of those shots where you would have had to let the camera take in the night sky all night long in order to capture all the details of this photo. It wasn’t until reading the caption that I realized it was actually 180 photoshopped images into one. It’s truly magnificent what you’ve been able to create and thankful you’ve decided to share your work with us here on steemit. Like you’ve probably already have come to notice but one of the best ways to get your name out there is by entering contest like the one you already won. Your work speaks volumes by itself. Keep doing work like this and you will continue to find much success. Photography contest are bounityful here on steemit so my advice would to be, enter as many as you can and then just give the rest time. Success doesn’t just happen over night, as neither did that picture you’ve created. It takes hard work but most importantly time. I look forward to seeing more of your photos here in the future!

Kind regards from a fellow steemian,
Tyler

@brandongarrett its a great photo you got there, first i am amazed how you managed to capture this. You surely have a hand and mind of an artist for photography is a art. The way you angle your shot gives it more way striking than typical long exposure shot, you use the lake to add more excitement on the way you want the shot to be seen by us. As a traveler I envy you for this. Thanks for sharing this wonderful imagery of yours. I hope more to come :)

With everyone now in a competition to leave the most poignant or interesting comment on your work, it almost seems a little redundant just saying 'well done' and 'great photo''. I am not a great wordsmith but your photography speaks for itself and I don't have the words. Thank you for giving us all the chance to see it.

I have the same issue when saying Thank You. ;)

Nature's finest arts!

congratulation for winning the contest sir
hope to see it myself someday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55