My Introduction and Iceland Photography Trip

in #photography7 years ago

Hello!

This is my first time ever posting on steemit and I'm delighted to be here. I found out about steemit through the poloniex exchange and decided to do a little research. I did not expect to find such a varied and interesting community! Content is excellent and everybody really seems to be behind the project, its a wonderful thing to see! Will certainly be spreading the word.

Right, well. My name is Alex. I work in theatre but am a licensed drone operator here in the UK. And this is what I would like to share with you all as my first post - our recent trip to Iceland to fly and film with the drone.
Alex and Drone.jpg

Travelling to Iceland has been a dream of ours - myself and my partner, Ina - for a very long time now, and early on March 16th we flew from Birmingham airport to Keflavik, to realise that goal.
We were collected from the airport by the rental car company and made to fill in a bit of paperwork before finally being released to embark on our icy adventure. We would proceed to drive nearly 1,500km (~930 miles), covering the entirety of the islands circumference in 5 days, stopping when ever we saw something to fly, film or photograph. It was tiring to say the least, but we were living a dream and enjoyed every single minute of it! Around every corner we turned and atop every mountain we climbed there were breathtaking views to behold. We simply didn't have enough batteries or memory to capture all of it. Frustrating, but also a blessing. Sometimes just sitting there and taking it all in without the distraction of camera or drone was needed. After all, we didn't want ALL of our adventures to have been experienced through the camera viewfinder.
Here are a few images from our trip:

Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Glacier Lagoon Mountains IG.jpg

South-Eastern Coastal Mountains
IMG_1798.JPG

The Hardy Icelandic Horse
Horse Close IG.jpg

Serene Ice Rivers
ICE RIVER.jpg

We were very sad to leave, to say the least. We spent our final evening chilling in a beautiful hot spring. We floated, warm as anything below the neck despite the Ice forming on my beard and wooly hat, planning our return to this beautiful country at the nearest possible opportunity. I am in love with this place.
I'd thoroughly recommend a trip to Iceland. If you've shown interest but are still unsure / on the fence, just do it. You WILL NOT be disappointed. It's like visiting a different planet.

...our relocation plans are underway.

Ina Jeep.jpg

Thanks guys, and I hope you enjoyed my first post

Alex

Sort:  

Great first post and thank you for the stunning pictures! Following now. Can't wait to see some of your drone images from the perspective above the terrain.

Thanks so much, glad you're enjoying the images!

nice set of pictures you got there :D.
And yea i was amazed as well when I saw all the cool posts en stories out here (joined a few days ago)

I'll put you on follow hope to see some more nice pics, Iceland is high on my list ^^

Thanks! Glad you like the pics :D
Yeah, you really should go. it's truly amazing.
Following you too, there will be more pics!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome Alex. Enjoyed your post :) Enjoy the community here..

Thanks. I am already. It's a wonderful place!

Welcome to Steemit @blacksails :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in our giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/


See what this is all about: https://steemit.com/@reggaemuffin/steemgreet-motivate-new-users-who-just-joined

Wanna visit that place @blacksails one day. Have a nice trip. Visit my latest post about "Aceh Tsunami Museum'.

I was living in Iceland, and I enjoyed content of your post, NICE.
Followed ;)

Thank you! You were? Why did you move away??

Cause I would commit suicide if I would stay longer there ))

No way, how come? The dark winters, the people??

Welcome to the Steemit community...follow me at https://steemit.com/@vj1309

Awesome shots. Upvoted and follwed hope you follow me too. Welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit @blacksails :)
Wow you have some AMAZING photos! I'm looking into getting a drone for videography so I'll give you a follow to see the types of content you put out with your drone!
I'm new to Steemit too and I'd REALLY appreciate it if you checked out my introduction post at https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@blaisep/hello-steemit-my-name-is-blaise
Hopefully I can earn your follow like you've earned mine!

Thanks @blasiep! Nice, you really should get into it, its a lot of fun and allows you some interesting perspectives. feel free to hit me up if you ever need any advice on the drone side of things, I'm always happy to talk drone :) You have a new follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13