Mushroom Gills In Panama - Original Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I was out for a walk today and noticed a branch with mushrooms all over it. There were actually two different mushroom varieties on it, so I brought it home to check them out. When I showed my husband, he said they were probably poisonous. Ha! We basically know nothing about mushrooms, but maybe now we know a little more.

IMG_0539.JPG

The first thing I learned was that these are called "gills" and are used to identify the type of mushroom. This website can help you identify them, but I'm not sure if it worked with the ones I found here in Panama. Or I just don't know how to input the information!

IMG_0540.JPG

I learned that the gills are what contain the spores of the mushrooms that help them reproduce. I am wondering how long these mushrooms have been on this long as there are quite a few of them, of different sizes. I don't know how long it takes to grow a new one, but I guess pretty quickly! For instance, when you mow and then two days later you have a crop of mushrooms where you just mowed!

IMG_0537.JPG

Honestly, I think the gills are much more interesting looking than the caps! I think it would be interesting to see these under a microscope. I have saved the branch that I found these on in hopes of learning more about these mushrooms.

IMG_0528.JPG

It's pretty amazing what you'll see if you stop to take the time to look around. I would have totally missed these today if I had not gone over to the neighbor's house and then walked back by the kids' play set.

IMG_0541.JPG

I just wish I could find out some more about them...not so we can chop them up and stir fry them (unless they're delicious), but just so we can learn something else about the land we now live in. I have tried looking online but have not been able to find anything that looks like them.

IMG_0530.JPG

If you noticed, there was an extra little mushroom in one picture that is quite unique (as there is only one)! Be sure and check back soon for pictures of it! I hope to find some more of these. I wonder if the kids found it and put it at the play ground or if that is where they were! I will have to ask!

1panama ben fb.jpg

SMbannersmall.png

The STEEM Engine

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Sort:  

I noticed that one dark purpleish one......is that the one you mean? It's odd. Those gills are really pretty but I think the "hairs" on the others are cool. What do they feel like? Take care.

I wish I could have felt them. I was nervous to do that when I found them and left it sitting by the door in a little raised bed and the next morning my dog ate all of them off the stick! He is fine though.

Did you ask the locals about these mushrooms? I have not seen those around, but I am sure they grow in Boquete as well. Maybe a indigenous person would know?!

Maybe so! I literally just found it today as I was taking a walk. It's pretty cool looking and I kept the piece of wood it is on. There is a mushroom farm near here I have been wanting to tour. Maybe I can take it and ask them....or maybe these spores would contaminate theirs! ;) Lol

lol by the title of the post I thought you actually cooked them and I was going to advise you to go to the hospital. I don't know much about mushrooms, I just know to not play around with them unless you truly know which ones are safe to eat

Lol - thank you for your concern about my health. I didn't eat them, but they kind of did look tasty.

Mushroom is my favorite food .I like mushroom .Thanks dear sharing this awesome post.

Glad you like them. They're tasty.

Nice photography. I heard mushroom has health benefits. I have never eaten mushroom. Do you ?

Yes, I have eaten them at restaurants. They taste good. I wouldn't eat one out of the yard without knowing what kind it was exactly. Some are poisonous.

Thank you for your reply.

rule of thumb when it comes to mushrooms:

If it glows in the dark, best not to eat them.

haha!

Lol - good thought.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #128 (5/8/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Wahoo! Choo choo!!

Dear Sir @apanamamama ,
First of all, thank you very much for photography so much so that we all know about photography, but we do not know that we are all photographer, the picture you have taken is very beautiful personally. I do not know how much it looks like to me. No part is less than you like to take pictures of your pictures I understand you are thanking me for sharing.
Be close.
And yes a word SIR can sometimes match this comment with my other comment Please do not vote me negative #-Upvote.

Stay good every day to do new posts

Cool shrooms! I'm glad you didn't try to eat them!

Those shots remind me of a lot of the ones I get from my friends in Spain. Many of them are avid "mushroom hunters" and know which are edible and which are't. In the mushroom season, they always have photos posted of baskets full of mushrooms!

Wow, that's pretty cool! Yeah, I found some more today and tried to see if they smelled like mushrooms, but they didn't. They looked totally different than these and were growing in the grass. I want to go to the mushroom farm near us and see what they have available. Pretty interesting. I'd love to learn to forage for them.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mushroom-gills-in-panama-original-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31