Descriptions on the Spot Needs Your Help!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Last week, Descriptions on the Spot - a writing competition and collaboration that got started way back when Steemit was just a baby - started up again, thanks to yours truly. Haven't had any takers on it yet, but I wanted to reach out and drum up some more interest.


Specifically, I'm reaching out to you folks in the photography community.


Back when Descriptions on the Spot was really going strong, @jedau reached out to you fine folks in an attempt to expand the number and variety of prompts. Back then, he came up with a clever shorthand for photo and picture prompts for DotS: photo bounties. Like privateers on the high seas, those of us who were writing for it started seeking out pictures to use as prompts. And, I have to tell you: you guys didn't disappoint in the slightest. Plenty of you started tagging your photos, and those that didn't were exceptionally gracious at letting those of us who wanted to use them do so.

I'd like to shout out to @zaebars (not just for the photos but for letting me help her edit her posts when I was proofreading) and @thebluepanda for some really fantastic work, and for stepping up to the plate to help us out. I had a couple of stories that I thought were some of my better work that were based in pictures with the #descriptionsonthespot tag. Which brings me to the point of this post.

I'd love to rekindle that spirit of collaboration between fiction writers and photographers and artists!

How You Can Help:

If you've got some photographs that you wouldn't mind letting writers use as a source of inspiration or a cornerstone for their story, just tag it with #descriptionsonthespot. You can also link directly to your pictures by posting them as a reply on the week's prompt post. If you're really feeling ambitious, you can link it back to the comment section and then reply with your very own piece of fiction based on your prompt!

I'm really hoping that we can get this collaboration going and bridge the creative gap between image and written words. It was a hell of a ride last time, and I'm looking forward to doing it again!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.


Sort:  

I don't mean to pat my own back but ... I was actually the one who suggested the addition of the photo prompts/bounties :D @complexring did a fine job steering the ship though. But, the photo prompts is probably one of my most notable additions.

Oh crap! My bad! I'll edit the post to reflect that. I honestly couldn't remember who made the original post talking about "photo bounties" but I knew it was one of you.

complex posted that, but I was the one who suggested to add the photos in. When DotS started it was only the word prompts, that's why I suggested it when they invited me to the inner circle haha

After reading this I still can only guess what "writing on the spot" should mean.

You need to explain things you are talking about!

That's why I included the link to the post :D It's a writing competition where you take a prompt - any prompt - and write a small piece of fiction. There's no max word limit, and the week's winner gets 5SBD or the SBD earned by the post, whichever is greater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68571.56
ETH 3910.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66