Hanuman ~ in Kecak at Uluwatu

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

A flash of lightning...
that's what it looks like when he first appears

A white figure sprints past, leaps into the air and into the crowd
No warning
The crowd goes... "ooohhh..."

With the audience jam-packed around the central circular stage, there was hardly any room to move about, much less leap around
Something that did not faze this monkey

Who was this monkey?

Hanuman ~ the Hindu Monkey God as depicted in the Ramayana

And this is the dance drama called 'Kecak'... of Bali ~ Indonesia
Something all visitors are told is a must-see!


DSC06759b.jpg

One of Hanuman's first poses, after he runs and jumps... and half kneels amongst these Balinese dancers
Still for one moment
This was about the only time I caught a clear shot of him since he was always fast as lightning, bounding about, all around the place!
I applaud the dancer-actor
He was every bit Hanuman - from his finger tips to his tippy toes


DSC06775b.jpg

See what I mean about "bounding about the place..."?
He suddenly appeared atop the 'candi bentar' or the Balinese split gates, that served as a backdrop to the dance drama
Struck several poses... with such attitude, I must say...
He is afterall a monkey... errr... monkeying around!
All while the dance and drama unfolds on centre stage...
He certainly was the star, holding everyone's attention, all the time


DSC06763 b.jpg

At times, this Hanuman reminded me of MJ...
The other 'white' God
No, not the white skin, but his moves!
S-m-o-o-t-h-ness personified.....


DSC06764b.jpg

There he goes, leaping up again...
Right before he half ran, half 'flew' up the arena steps, and sat himself down amongst the audience!
That sent some giggles around...



They say the dancer-actor playing Hanuman is put in a trance during parts of the performance, like when he kicks out the fire
Hence, the name the 'Fire Dance'
I totally believe that, especially after seeing how he threw himself into the act
Leaping and bounding everywhere
Fearless...

DSC06800b.jpg

A one-on-one with the priest before the Fire dance segment

DSC06803b.jpg

Bound and all set to 'burn'

DSC06805b.jpg

Not just yet...
He rises...

And springs into action!

DSC06806b.jpg

Hanuman kicks the piles of fire out!

Safe and sound
All ends well
A little comedy and fun with a member of the audience takes the edge off
and then, all too soon, it's the end


DSC06822b.jpg

Photo call...
The kids obviously loved him!

Shot at the Kecak Fire dance performance
Uluwatu, Bali ~ Indonesia


Captured with SONY A5100 | © image & text original content | click image for fullscreen view
Note: Some of this original content also appears in my other social media platforms



~ more of my learnings & experiments ~


I'm with QURATOR... Are you?

Vote for Qurator as a Steemit Witness

via steemit.com or steemconnect

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

There you go scaring me again! :)

That last shot with the kids saved me ; )

Again? 😳
Oopsie... I think I re-edited and re-posted this from my 'other' site... 😮 I had the draft and thought I hadn't used it here before... added more photos and text, and edits!!!

I can't exactly reverse this, can I?!!! 😓

I'm not sure but i think i have seen him before. Don't worry it all looks great! Lots of the dances and the night scenes are scary! Hee Hee. Maybe it was just me Imagining things :)

Hahaha... its the shadows... ;)
You're seeing things in the shadows... :D

Well I don't see them but i know they are there! ; )

A bit scary for me. :D

Hahahaha... you won't be at the performance! It is all in good fun :D

All because you took the photos so good! It feels so real!

Hahaha.... Thank you! :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 185 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awwwww... Thank you very much, @trufflepig!! :)

Hi @ackhoo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.347 which ranks you at #2337 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 2352).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What a brilliant post I felt like I was there with you enjoying this interesting event ;)

Thank you, JJ!

Most welcome 😎👍😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44