The Art of Repetition in Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

 "sada.jpg"

Repetition in our daily lives can become quite boring and monotonous, but repetition in images is one of the most likable styles you can incorporate into your photography. Seeing repeated objects project oneness and rhythm which is aesthetically pleasing to the eyes. And in search of repetition, we also encounter patterns and textures.

Below are my tips on how to see repetition, pattern, and texture in everyday life!

1. _CALM AND CHAOS_

Looking for objects that represent calmness and chaos can be subjective. You can take a picture of ocean waves and see it as calming, but I find waves' texture as wild and chaotic because of the uneven lines and sizes. Or I can take a picture of mountains and see it as calming because of how color plays, green being often used in decorating for its calming effect (i.e. green room), but one can find mountain intimidating, especially when viewed from the base, thus it can fall under the chaotic element.

 "calm-and-chaos.jpg"

2. _EMPHASIZE OR BREAK_

Emphasizing an image by filling up your frame, and breaking it by simply interrupting the flow of an image by a change of color/pattern/texture or by having a contrasting element within the unified object. It is specially important to make your best judgement whether to emphasize or break a composition.

_An article by Darren Rowse best explains the emphasize or break technique which you can read _here.

 "emphasize-or-breka.jpg"

3. _BALANCE_

Balance in composition comes naturally to me even when I was starting out, and definitely what I enjoy the most. In my photo below, I applied repetition and pattern in order to come up with a balanced composition. And even when I was editing this collage in Illustrator, I balanced out the playing kids to the working adults.

 "balance.jpg"

4. CONTRAST

This is where light and shadow play an important role in order to emphasize a subject matter or to bring out more textures in an interesting image.

 "Contrast.jpg"

I'm adding more photographs below! I hope you find this article helpful and informative.

And please follow my photography accounts over at 500px and Unsplash. Thank you!

 "er.jpg"

 "eg.jpg"

Fancy reading previous articles? Click links below!

Introduction: 8 Relevant Questions Answered Copying Bargue Plates Art Diary: Slow And Steady (Part I)

 "ablckbrd.jpg"

Sort:  

Very enlightening... love how you've laid out all your wonderful shots too! Thank you for sharing! :)

Hey! Thanks a lot for liking my post and for resteeming! <33 Followed you! You've got some really good shots right there!

This post is very informative and those photographs are wonderful! I have to learn how to do photography and you need to teach me how to post-process my future shots.

Hi, @deveerei ! :) I'll post a how-to article soon. I don't really do so much work in monochromatic images, and I only touch it up in Lightroom! Thank you, dev! :)

Salamat, madame! Hihi <33 im also being extra with my format! Level up, haha!

Your post is amazing - I like how it was able to teach me a lot!

Im so glad it helped! Thanks a lot! <3

thank you fir this information and awesome samples

glad you enjoyed my article. thanks a lot, @victorbz :)

And thank you for resteeming as well, good Sir! You've got some pretty articles over there! Definitely checking those! :)

my pleasure - we wait for more from you too !

Nice photography @ablckbrd 😊. Followed you.

Thank you po! I followed back. :) Good morning!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ablckbrd to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47