Photo Challenge: "ACTION" photography: Season 2, Week 4, Game 2

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

Win points towards the 110 SBD Prize Pool by showing us your ACTION shots!

@PhotoGames, Season 2, Week 4: “Thematic Tuesday”


But first, let's review the schedule for Week 4:

MUSIC MATCH MONDAY - Due Wednesday at 6PM EST.
THEMATIC TUESDAY - Due Sunday at 6PM EST.
TRUTHSEEKING THURSDAY - To be announced
FRIDAY FAVOURITES - To be announced

Visit these blogs throughout the week to play the other games:
@derekkind
@r00sj3
@itchyfeetdonica
@scottshots
@themonkeyzuelans


W4 G2.jpg

This week’s photo assignment theme is ACTION

For Thematic Tuesday, we want you to show us your action shots.

Action can mean many things: we usually associate it with sports photography, but there are many other ways of capturing “action”. Actions happen all around us all the time, and the camera can eternally freeze those split-second moments and let us view them in a new way - our eyes have no pause button, but we can stop time with a photo.

However, sometimes the best way of showing action is not to freeze it, but to use a longer shutter speed and blur the action to reveal movement through the passage of time.

Also, action can be subtle, like a sideways glance, or slow, like a slug that’s climbing a wall as fast as it can, or literal, like a call to begin filming. “Action” can mean many things. What does it mean to you?


EXAMPLES (photo credits: @scottshots | @derekkind )

02.jpg

photoby derek kind.jpg


Cushing Classic at Squaw Valley 23.jpg

Flour Dancer


We want to see how you interpret this week’s theme!


You have until Sunday at 6pm EST to share a photo in the comments section of this post. The photo can be one that you’ve taken previously, but we strongly encourage you to create a new image for the theme! Be sure to let us know if your photo was taken this week - it might well sway our vote.


HOW TO PLAY

  1. Share your Action photo in the comments below.
  2. Feel free to also create a post about your photo, using the #photogames and #thematictuesday tags.
  3. For this game you have until Sunday at 6PM EST to enter
  4. Have fun!

SCORING

  • There will be TWELVE winners total in this game - we want to see everyone playing!
  • The Photo Stars will rank your entries to award the following points, from 1st to 12th:
  • 28 | 24 | 20 | 16 | 13 | 10 | 8 | 6 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1
  • Winners will be added to the Photo Games Leaderboard
  • The total prize pool is 110 SBD and will be awarded to the point leaders at the end of the month, as described here

RidingMong.JPG
(photo by @itchyfeetdonica)


NEW TO THE @PHOTOGAMES??

Introduction to The Photo Games, Season Two.

Sort:  

OK I took your challenge and used two forms of the word "ACTION"

AND... I used one of my most recent pictures i've taken which I just edited.

Optional Text

This is my friend Dave doing a cool action (Repelling) while getting some action.

Ha ha nice!

I struggled with the theme "action" for @PhotoGames, Season 2, Week 4: “Thematic Tuesday” until @alevaskye did a post at a fair and reminded me that I also have some really great fair pictures. Yay!

It was a fun night playing with the exposure time.

Full post
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@sjarvie5/arizona-state-fair

I have so many action photos it was hard to choose, but in the end I picked this dancer jumping.

20170424-DSC00132.jpg

Beautiful. Great form, and she's even smiling to herself. Love it!

Wow, this is great!

My entry: What more action than a whale in the air. One of the most rewarding experiences you can have on the Ecuadorian coast, is to be able to see the humpback whales that go in search of mating jump. The whale sighting is a tourist activity that in the last 10 years has had a great push and Puerto Lopez has become the epicenter of this activity.

DSC06802.jpg

8.jpg

Hello, for my action photo I have this portrait of a friend, in which we combine its fleeting movement with the kinetic design, with the intention of generating a greater dynamism.

I hope you like it.

DSC_3851.jpg

Here's my entry. This fellow came by our house for a short visit. :)

P3077808_copyright_rosanne-dubbeld.jpg

Two teenage boys came out of the tunnel I was just walking to. The sun that suddenly hit their eyes overwhelmed them. They both lifted their arms, tried to hold their hands in such a way in front of their faces so it would create a barrier of protection. I don't even remember how I saw what was happening or would happen. I walked, I noticed, I took the shot.

(Unfortunately not a photo from this week, but taken in 2015 in my hometown Rotterdam.)

Thanks for the contest.
this is my entry:

for more details checkout this post:
https://steemit.com/photocircle/@sina-adventure/and-freeze-original-photos

Action!

image * My dog Hiro shaking. *

Photo taken in Norway with my phone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35