THROWBACK THURSDAY - Photo Games Season 2, Week 2, Game 4

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

CAUTION: ZOMBIE GLOWING EYES!! BUT SCROLL DOWN...

SHARE YOUR THROWBACK PHOTOS AND WIN POINTS

But first, you still have plenty of time to play JACK MY STYLE and MEME ME!


HERE’S MY EXAMPLES:

THEN:
dsc_0052.jpg

ABOUT THE PHOTO

About the same time I got into photography (2013) my wife took some Makeup classes to become a Makeup Artist. So I wanted to try my hand at some beauty portraits. My wife did the make up on her sister-in-law (shown in photo) and I did some photos. The photo was lit with an incandescent light bulb from a lamp in our living room. For some reason my sister-in-law thought duck lips were pretty cool.
This photo was edited, very badly, with Google Picasa.



NOW:
Erica Loftus-20171030-3385-Edit-2.jpg

ABOUT THE PHOTO

This is from a halloween collab with a local Makeup Artist, who also happens to be the model.
I have since invested in studio lights and modifiers, which make a huge difference. I've also stopped using Picasa to edit photos, and now use industry standard Lightroom and Photoshop. I am no beauty photographer by any means and still have a lot to learn about the genre, but I do enjoy doing studio work from time to time, it's a welcome change to sweeping landscapes and billions of stars.

Now show me your then and now!!


RULES & HOW TO PLAY

So here’s the game, I’ve shared a couple photos, one from when I first got started in photography, and the second is more recent. Now you just do the same. We’ll give out points for what we feel is the most improved.

This is all about your photography journey, and we understand everyone is at a different place along the path so don’t be afraid to share your photos, even if you just started a month ago!!

1- Share your photos in the comments. You can also write up a blog post on your page and share the link in the comments below with a couple photos.
2- Deadline is Saturday at 6PM Eastern.
3- Don’t forget to play on other Photostars blogs too, where you can share different photos.
4- Max points allowed per person for this game is 16


POINTS

  • Each Photostar will choose 3 of their favorite Then/Now submissions
  • Top selections will be awarded as follows:
    1st - 8 points
    2nd - 4 points
    3rd - 2 points
  • Winners will be added to the @photogames leaderboard

THE PHOTO STARS

Be sure to visit each of their blogs for more chances to win points
@caseygrimley
@alevaskye
@jfolkmann
@yumyumseth
@derangedvisions
@asgarth

QUICK SCHEDULE FOR WEEK 2

The rest of our schedule for week 2 is as follows

  • GAME 1 - METADATA MONDAY (Monday- Wednesday)
  • GAME 2 - JACK MY STYLE (Tuesday-Sunday)
  • GAME 3 - MEME ME (Wednesday-Friday)
  • GAME 4 - THROWBACK THURSDAY (Thursday-Saturday)
  • GAME 5 - SELFIE ON THE SPOT (Friday-Saturday)

NEW TO THE PHOTOGAMES??

Introduction to The Photo Games Season Two.

Sort:  

I do not understand thing.please clear ...??

https://steemit.com/@durontofaisal56

Show off a picture from when you first started and then show how good your pictures are now.

my parsonal pictures

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 05:33:14
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 974.96/1600.00
Total Photos: 65
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Read the full post here.


Then


Now (Sony α6500)

8pts and 16pts max... dang!! ... now i really really wish i had guessed the focal length correctly and with zero effort gotten 10pts.

K this does seem like a fun game. Looking forward to a nice pretty easy post.

Your post is awesome, but don't forget to share some photos in here for points!

not everyone had done their posts yet... so i was waiting.

I'm hoping I get a full sweep of this entire game and in the end almost catch up to vmoldo on the metadata guesses. hahaha

I'm counting on this because I'm probably not going to do well on any of the other games.

Congrats! Your first photo was terrible enough and your second was good enough to win 1st place! ;)
You showed the best progression. 8 points!

I know!!! haha Thank you!

THEN: I've always loved doing street photography, observing people, capturing those simple seemingly meaningless moments for eternity.

This is problably my first ever (!) street photo. I loved it! It was so scary to take this picture! But this was, I thought, what photography was about: creating very romantic sepia coloured pictures of a postcard pretty elderly couple.

then1_copyright_rosanne_dubbeld.jpg
[The picture wasn't even sharp. But I spent hours trying to get that real romantic look and it was my favourite picture for a long long time :-)]

NOW: Well, I'm not going to say this is my best street photo, but I picked it because it was actually taken in the same city and it's the same 'kind' of picture. I couldn’t let that nice coincidence slide. Since I’m less afraid to show people I'm taking pictures of them now it's actually sharp. Plus I've let go of the low-contrast and boring sepia look ;-)

now1_copyright_rosanne_dubbeld.jpg
[She has such a lovely smile!]

[Complete post with all examples here)

Congrats! 2nd place = 4 points!

Congrats! 3rd place = 2 points!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15