Art on the Highline - Mutations Post 2

in #photofeed6 years ago

Art on the Highline - Mutations Post 2

This post continues on from my post number 1 on the Mutations exhibit on the Highline Park

The Highline is an almost 1.5 Mile long elevated walking park in NYC built on what was in the past the New York Central Railway Spur on the west Side of Manhattan.

I do have some shots of the views from the Highline but for this post I will focus on some of the art on the Highline which changes from time to time. And is often so interesting to see as well as the beautiful landscaping and views from the Highline

Highline Mutations-10.jpg


Sony A6500 22mm F5.6 1/100 ISO 400
Click here to view larger



The Next piece I share above is a shot of artist Marguerite Humea’s Sphix Joachim, which is described as a winged lion that apparently is the protect thesite from potential enemies

Highline Mutations-12.jpg


Sony A6500 29mm F5.6 1/13 ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



These pair of shoes are a piece entitled Giantess by artist Sascha Braunig renowned for her highly sculptural paintings, this piece which I have seen described as footwear to suit a witch

Highline Mutations-13.jpg


*Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/60 ISO 250
Click here to view larger



And above we have a piece called The Floaters and is by Henry Taylor, this piece is a self portrait of himself and a friend blissed out and relaxing in a pool.

Highline Mutations-14.jpg


Sony A6500 22mm F5.6 1/25 ISO 640
Click here to view larger


And the piece above is by Joanna Malinowska and C.T. Jasper and is part of a piece called The Emperor's Canary,I say a part of as this piece is more than just visual and consists of two of these Gramophone like things which play recorded sounds from the great Pacific Garbage Patch Andor a person breathing with black lung disease, it's one for sure which a photo does not to justice and one would have to experience it in person to feel the full effect

Incase like me your not sure what the Great Pacific Garbage Patch is its an area in the Pacific Ocean where tides have taken and dropped a lot of garbage dropped off ships transversing the ocean.

These two posts just showcase a few of the pieces in the Mutations exhibit, when I visited there one morning the light wasn't ideal and I only had limited time before racing to work so I could get shots of them all, I do have more shots on and looking down from the Highline which I will share in future posts

I do have some shots of the actual highline and some of the views that I need to work on, but today I have been on my feet a\all day apart from the time on the train and I am dog tired so going to jump on the recliner put my feet up and chill this evening, catch you all tomorrow


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.746452 lat -74.005806long The Highline NYC d3scr

Sort:  

That first photograph certainly caught my attention! Not really my favourite though, lol... I rather like the witch's shoes - reminds me of the shoes left behind by one of the witches in Wizard of Oz... ;)
Cool collection anyway - glad you managed to stop by to catch them all (including part 1!)

I think the witches shoes was my favorite of them all
The rest not really my kind of art lol

Yup... The shoes win! ;)

I think so, but they really wouldn’t suit me lOL

Nice photos of the artwork. Too bad you can’t throw some vinyl on the last one. Like music, not breathing or such.

Thanks and I agree music would have been cool

Apart from the first one I love them all. Beautiful art!

thanks for your visit and thoughts

It's a pleasure.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=art-on-the-highline-mutations-post-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!
Hello Friend. What excellent photos, in addition to that great art that would be part of the culture of New York. I liked the third photo very much. It looks brutal.

Thanks kindly for your visit and thoughts

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

What a quirky collection of art! Fantastic photos!

quirky is a good word

Thanks

These are really great shots! My favorite are the “witch” shoes. I wonder what it would feel like walking in those...very uncomfortable I will presume. I probably would be nervous walking in front of that winged lion :D

That winged lion was big and a bit intimidating
I also loved those shoes but I don’t think they would suit me

Ha!! Yes I’m gonna have to agree about the shoes!!!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 85 (3/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Holy crap that dragon? thing is wikkid cool looking!

It is pretty cool and big so kind of intimidating as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70858.50
ETH 3796.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44