Art on the Highline - Mutations Post 1

in #steemusa6 years ago

Art on the Highline - Mutations Post 1

The Highline is an almost 1.5 Mile long elevated walking park in NYC built on what was in the past the New York Central Railway Spur on the west Side of Manhattan.

I do have some shots of the views from the Highline but for this post I will focus on some of the art on the Highline which changes from time to time

Highline Mutations.jpg


Sony A6500 31mm F5 1/30 ISO 400
Click here to view larger


At the time that I visited the Highline a couple of months ago one of the art series there is called Mutations and this post will highlight some of the art pieces, starting with Aria Baremboym’s Mutations- Locus of control

I have seen it described as a seating sculpture but from the angle of this shot I took to me it looks like a nose?

Highline Mutations-3.jpg


Sony A6500 19mm F5 1/30 ISO 800
Click here to view larger



I couldn’t find a description or details on the artist for the piece above I am not 100% sure what I think of it to be honest

Highline Mutations-4.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/200 ISO 320
Click here to view larger



The eve above is by Artist Max Hooper Schneider who says he has always loved non characteristic Flora and Fauna, the piece is a 10 foot long Marine Diaorama in a Vitrine.

if your wondering like I was what the heck a Vitrine is, its a glass display case

From a distance it looked to me like some sort of aquatic setup with sea grass, but it's actually made of natural and synthetic hair, and the stained glass look is his interpretation of an anti-tidal landfill.

It is cast in resin and is made up of bird feathers, french fries, minerals, gems and other gnarly things including worms a sheep embryo and all kinds of freeze dried fruits and vegetables.

Highline Mutations-6.jpg


Sony A6500 30mm F5.6 1/50 ISO 400
Click here to view larger


The piece above is by artist Jon Rahman and is titled the Swallower swallowed and features a ring on animals including from what I could work out a Man, a snake, a horse and a dog, perhaps more that I didnt recognize,

Highline Mutations-8.jpg


Sony A6500 23mm F5.6 1/40 ISO 400
Click here to view larger



I thought it was cool enough and needed a shot from another angle to be appreciated better

This posts just showcases a few of the pieces in the Mutations exhibit, I will be doing a second post with a few more of the art pieces,

I should note that when I visited there one morning the light wasn't ideal and I only had limited time before racing to work so I could get shots of them all, I do have more shots on and looking down from the Highline which I will share in future posts


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.746452 lat -74.005806long The HighlineNYC d3scr

Sort:  

Some very interesting pieces! The one with everybody swallowing each other looks pretty crazy!

Thanks for your visit
I couldn’t decide if I would call that piece crazy or bizarre lol

They look like human centipede movie (the two last pictures), yikes!

That one or two last shots I was kind of intrigued and freaked by it

Wow that Swallower Swallowed sculpture is cool. I see a lizard too, and maybe a whale? lol It does look different from different angles.

Thanks for your visit
It was such an interesting piece of these exhibits probably my favorite but it was also a bit freaky

wow... Almost every surreal art I see today reminds me of that movie I just watched "annihilation" . especially that last one. nice shots. you captured the artworks very well.

Thanks
I have t seen that movie I should check it out

It's a wonderful blend of sci-fi and horror, it starts a little bit slow but worth the wait :-)

Cool I will for sure have to check it out

Very unusual art to say the least.
Are you a member of both groups now?
I am not good about getting on discord but was interested in learning more about Steemusa since I live here. LOL seems logical.
I once used the tag but don't know anything about it.

Yes I am a member of both well I in a leader role in Steemusa and we have a great bunch of people you should pop in and join us

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

It looks like a nose indeed, on the other hand the swallower is really strange!

I guess one would have to call this art unique it sounds nicer than Calling it bizarre

I agree, besides, just because I don't like it, that doesn't mean other won't .

Exactly, I will be honets this art wasnt to my particular taste but everyone is different and I am sure many ove this work thats what makes the world interesting

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=art-on-the-highline-mutations-post-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Modern art is very strange. I'm familiar with artists who do similar things. They are very interesting people, they see the world turned inside out ...

Indeed a lot of it to me is strange as well
The artists have a unique vision

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 22 March 2018!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54