Revealing secrets about dance photography.

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Dance Photography.


The dancers have a quality that sometimes I would like to have, I admit it. Give my body those movements that help me express and experience different sensations. As you will have noticed in my previous photographs, I usually rescue details that cause an impact on me. Although the detail is minimal, in the end it ends up being a paradise of sensations that will be recorded in an instant. This time I come to share a part of my creative process photographing dance.


First of all, I would like to clarify that my training as an artist started in theater as an actor and one of the premises I always had in mind was to observe; It helps a lot to play a character. After the theater came photography as a tool of salvation to a calmer space (I say salvation because the theater, although I love it a lot, it brought me too much stress). Then, I learned to appreciate the details and with them I build a very personal language in photography.

My trip began by photographing the theater, stopping the time that on stage was quickly consumed; I looked for expressions, looks, movements, attitudes. Then I learned the importance of light in photography and little by little I learned about the craft. I knew how to photograph theater, I knew how to compose a photograph ... but I did not know how to compose with fast movements, as in dance. I went to an excerpt about photography in dance and I will never forget this little phrase:

"... I like to photograph the backs of the dancers."

Why photograph their backs? Why despise all the expression they can achieve with their faces, their looks?

That day I left with many doubts and had to answer them. I dared to get involved in dance rehearsals, dance halls, dance performances, almost everything related to dance, just to photograph and experience what I learned that day. I discovered a passion that I never thought I would have with dance. Over time I was sharpening the look and began to photograph hands and feet. Have you ever talked to someone and noticed that they move their hands and feet as if they were saying something different than what comes out of their mouths? I found it curious to observe those same details while watching a dancer perform. From there was born an obsession that until today I continue to suffer hahaha.

A photograph is an instant, it is writing with light, it is feeling, it is poetry, it is life, it is a detail. I hope you enjoy these memories that taught me everything I have managed to be up to the present.










I hope the post has been to your liking! Pleased to share with you. Help me with an Upvote. Thank you very much!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Beautiful photos and an enjoyable article. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much!

Hello @segapema,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "People & Lifestyle".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-70th-edition-people-and-lifestyle

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

This is so great!! Thanks!!!

Nice pics, and thanks for sharing this amazing post!

Gracias Paula! Encantado de compartir el post! Saludos!

HERMANOO!!! quede super impresionado con tu trabajo! No tengo un criterio academico con que definirlo; pero en base a ser un criticon de lo estetico tengo que darte el reconocimiento por el pulso para capturar tan hermosas fotos :D !!!
Saludos bro !!!

Gracias hermano!!! Aprecio mucho tus palabras!!!

Hermano!! Ya tú sabes lo que opino de tu trabajo... Que bueno saber que estás por acá!!

Un abrazo!!

Amílcaaaar!! Hahaha qué bieeen! Me alegra leerte por acá hermano, gracias!

I also photograph dance, and I really enjoyed what you had to say.. Beautiful words and photographs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98