Shot & Thought # 17 - Auroral paradise...

in #photofeed6 years ago

Yesterday Aurora Borealis was dancing on the sky above northern Norway like crazy - I was sleeping in my bed already when I got some fresh photos straight from Lofoten Islands... My good photographic friends are leading photo-workshops right now on this amazing islands.
I am sure most of You have seen many shots from that area - Lofoten are one of the best places to watch and photograph northern lights - and its not because the lights are above the islands only ;) if there is Aurora above the Lofoten, it is also visible 1000km south here in Trondheim. These islands are the best, because there is sooo many great photo spots, that it didn't matter where You go - You will have a great view on the sky, together with high mountains, sandy beaches, wavy seas, rocks, shoreline, simply everything what we - landscape photographers, love the most!

I can't even imagine how incredible it would be to live there, to have all of this places in range of one hour cartrip... every day different conditions, every day different oportunities... ehhhh...

But today's photo is not from Lofoten - it is from here - Ranheim near Trondheim, middle Norway.
This photo I took 2 years ago, and it is one of my best and favourites.

Why about it today - because it is Friday, tomorrow I dont have to go to work, which means I can spend night outdoor chasing some lights - it is very high chance to see and shoot something as the forecast says about magnetic storm marked G1 - and what is the most important - the sky is super clear!

So, wish me luck, I will share the results tomorrow, I will try to catch something nice for You ;).


She was dancing for me ;)


Aurora1.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!


CategoryLandscape/Nightscape
Settings24mm | ISO1250 | f4.0 | 20sec
GearCanon 6D + Canon 24-105 f4.0
LocationRanheim beach, Middle Norway

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me
Any questions or opinions - write a comment. Great thanks for supporting my work!

Thanks for watching and have a great day!

Sort:  

We sincerely missed you !!! I dedicate this shot to you, my friend !!!We sincerely missed you !!! I dedicate this shot to you, my friend !!!
IMG_3527-_Edit-_Edit.jpg

Biggest thanks and best regards!!

👍 Really amazing!! I stared for a couple of minutes at this images, and it is stunning. Hope you have good luck catching a beautiful aurora tonight.

Thank You, just go and grab some food and moving out... check the results tomorrow! ...

And its started to snow outside Grrrrr :/

Man, this is a great atmospheric photo. I can image it printed large, hanging on a wall. Combination of cold and warm colors creates a great attraction for eyes.

I was thinking about printing this on aluminium plate which will give extra cold shining effect...maybe some day... Thanks!!

My friendly advise - do not postpone this plan. Printed photograph will outlive us and our digital archives. Printed picture is the only real result of our efforts.

This is totally true. I have printed few already as big as 150:100cm for myself and clients - it is totally different experience of watching photographs.

Very cool :)

You got a 1.57% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @photovisions!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You've done it again! Thank you! I am inspired by you to learn more about photography.

Beautiful photo! I hope to see the Auroras one day, IRL. I followed you on 500px, too. Keep up the great work.

Thank You! You must take a trip to the north one day- northern lights are one of this amazing thing which everyone should see! Thank You for follow in 500px, I havent upload anything there since quite a long time...but I will be back there for sure in future.

One of these days, I will. I think you can see it well enough at the dark sky parks in Michigan, if there's enough solar activity that is.

Yes. Just be ready and check forecasts often!

Nice and amazing place to be, beautiful pics, you just gave us the kind of product we love to see here. Nice

Many thanks! I am trying to show my best works!

Lofoten is a amazing place, some pretty great scenery. Got some extended family up there, so have explored the area quite a few times. Been a few years since I last went though. Great job on the photo, that green is stunning! Have a good weekend :)

Nice! Thank You for comment, Lofoten is my dream place for living, the only problem will be the work...maybe I become a fisherman and start doing photo workshops as well ;)

Yeah, work can be a bit scarce up there. Fishing and photo workshops sounds like a pretty nice way to make a living :)

Sounds like a story from Discovery Channel :D

Wow, amazing!!

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97