Priest Lake | Idaho's Crown Jewel

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Idaho's Crown Jewel

Priest Lake

YUN00023.jpg

Priest Lake is located in the panhandle of Idaho. The northernmost shore of the lake reaches to just 15 miles south of the United States-Canada border. Pictured in these photos is Kalispell Island, the largest of seven islands on Priest Lake. It is open for camping on a first come first serve basis without the need for a lottery or reservations. There is some talk among locals here in North Idaho in keeping places like these a secret so they remain open and easily accessible, so I hope I'm not breaking some kind of unwritten code by sharing these photos with you. According to numerous sources and as reported by NPR (source), Idaho Leads the U.S. as the fastest growing state in the union. Because of that, and the absolute beauty of this place it's natural to question how long it will remain this quiet. Just the past 20 years has brought significant changes to the amount of tourism and consequently, the availability of first come first serve campsites.

YUN00029.jpg

YUN00040.jpg

YUN00048.jpg

YUN00057.jpg

YUN00060.jpg

The video footage below is one of my first attempts at putting together something that I considered high quality. There is no story-line or narrative, just beautiful scenery that I hope the viewer can find relaxing. This footage takes me right back to the beach where I shot it, watching the sun set on the opposite shore and smelling the fresh air, filtered softly by the pines. Hopefully you can imagine some of that as you're watching!


I hope you enjoyed this! If you haven't already seen it, you might enjoy my recent post: Hello | My First 30 Days on Steemit! I shared some numbers and stats that I think you might enjoy, especially if you're new here to the platform!

All photos and video in this post were shot with a Yuneec Typhoon H Drone.

Thanks for reading!


Intro Post | Last Post (Romanian Forest edited with VSCO X) | Instagram
Sort:  

Very beautiful place. Thanks for sharing the photos and video.
_ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _
Want a few smiles and laughs? Check out @puddlejumper for new jokes each day!

It is very beautiful! Thank you.

These blue gradients interrupted by the golden tones of the trees bathing in evening light are just splendid. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! It was so beautiful to see it in person. It makes me impatient for the warm colorful days of summer!

Transfer 0.001 SBD or 0.001 STEEM to @a-0-0 to have your last blog post resteemed to over 33,700 followers. Leave Memo empty.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 04:22:44
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 222.14/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

incredible shots, as always my friend. Seeing places from above is such a refreshing take, is like re-discovering them. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! I like seeing this island from above especially since I've camped here and canoed around it. It's fun to imagine my little canoe down there on the water.

Neat looking place, and a lovely set of images. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by justinmullet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @justinmullet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @justinmullet, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I grew up in E Wash, and am very familiar with Priest Lake. Thanks for bringing me a fond memory.

That's so neat! I'm glad this could bring back memories. The lake is still relatively new to me, only living here in Idaho for about 6 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43