Hello | My First 30 Days on Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My First 30 Days on Steemit!

My name is Justin.

I’ve been on Steemit for 30 days.

Allow me to reintroduce myself to those who have not met me, and share my experiences on Steemit.

profile.jpg

I’m a real person, and I do a lot of real things, so I don’t like using one word to describe what I am or what I do. If you’d take a look at my other social media, website, or Stocksy portfolio you’ll see me describe myself as an outdoor photographer with an enthusiasm for the outdoors. With that said, because photography is the main topic I post about here on Steemit, I’ll carry on with that narrow description of myself.

Before diving in, I wanted to let you know that yesterday I wrote a somewhat negative and sarcastic post about Steemit, and a few thoughts I’ve had since joining. There are some great conversational points in the comments and I highly recommend you checking it out right here! Today however, it's time for a bit of positivity. Let's start with the numbers.

Steemit Accomplishments and Stats - First 30 Days

  • 132 Followers
  • 360 Posts (30 Blogs Posts / 330 Comments)
  • (48) Reputation Score
  • $45.13 - Highest Post Reward
  • 90 Steem in my Wallet
  • 1 Curie upvote
  • 2 resteems and daily round-up features from @Photofeed
  • 1 @photocontests wins

I have put all the author and curation rewards I've earned this month back into Steem Power. I have to thank @irreverent-dan for pointing out the fact that as long as Steem is more than $1 it makes more sense to take a 50/50 payout instead of 100% to Steem Power. For the first week or so I chose 100% SP payouts on each of my posts. However, I now choose 50/50 payouts since SBD is worth more than $1, and will convert into more Steem Power. I use Blocktrades to sell my SBD and Steem for Steem Power.

A few weeks in, I sold some of my LTC on Blocktrades to purchase 41.225 Steem that I used to power up my account. I have a total of 90 Steem right now. That means in my first 30 days I have earned almost 50 Steem through author and curation rewards. This is way more than I expected when signing up. My first post started with a bang and was upvoted 173 times to $4.99! I didn’t know why it received so much attention at the time, but now I can see it was upvoted by @photofeed’s @cyrptoctupus and received some attention via the Photofeed curation trail. This was instant motivation to keep posting, even though I had already committed myself to 30 posts in my first 30 days.

A couple weeks after my first post, I wrote a short tutorial about shooting vertical landscape photos, that got picked up by Curie’s curator @carlgnash and recieved a big curie upvote. I woke up the morning after I posted it to check my Steemit, and saw that my reputation scored had sky rocketed from about 39 to 47 overnight! That was weird to see, so I scrolled down and noticed my post was at $55! This was really exciting, and provided a ton of encouragement to keep creating content and sharing it on here.

Why did I join?

I have been a part of a Trading/Investment/Crypto Whatsapp group for a few months and have put time in learning about cryptocurrencies. Through my research using Google, I frequently encountered blog posts written on Steemit. At that time, I had no idea what Steemit was, and never bothered to find out. Then about six weeks ago when the social network Vero was blowing up on Instagram for a day or two, I noticed a comment written by @circa1983 talking about the benefit of posting to a blockchain based social network like Steemit, rather than another Facebook or Instagram clone. I right away looked up his Steemit blog and immediately decided to sign up for an account. After waiting nearly two full weeks to get verified, and messaging @drakos on Steemit Chat, I received the email allowing me to finish setting up my account. That was 30 days ago, and I have had a blast on here ever since, minus the frustrations I outlined in yesterday’s post.

I see a lot of potential on this platform, and have been surprised with what I’ve happened to accomplish so far. I plan on sticking around and posting consistently for another two months, before reevaluating my investment.

Goals

My goal for Steemit is three-fold.

  • To earn rewards that will eventually help pay bills or buy new gear.
  • To put my photography in front of a new audience.
  • To be inspired and perfect my photography craft through feedback, criticism, and encouragement.

Gratitude

Thank you to all who have left meaningful comments, offered advice and encouragement, or helped explain things I’ve questioned. There are a lot of great, real people, on here and I’m happy to be a part!

Thanks for reading!

Justin

Sort:  

Nice. I should learn a few things from you!

I'm happy to answer any questions I can, and perhaps we can learn together.

Sounds good!

I'm finally sitting down and doing the research on steemit that I should have done in the beginning.

That is quite the accomplishment! Well done. I will definitely be following you. Good luck with all your goals :)

Thanks! Lots of hard work and great people will make it happen. Appreciate the support!

Well Welcome and congrats I have not been here any longer but it is always good to hear people that have had a positive experience here. Many are here 30 days and then gone. One article that gets good attention from a few whales is all it takes to get your account started. Your off to a better start then most at the 30 day mark so keep it going.

Thanks! I don't think I had just a ton do with it other than consistency and a desire to make cool stuff that people enjoy. The next few months, and the determination I put forth will make more of a difference I believe than my first month.

Congratulations on a great month you've had Justin!
I just got into Steemit, about to make my own @introduceyourself article as well. I was looking at the articles and people I'd like to follow and really digged the content and the clarity of your writing.
Love your photography work as well wow! Keep it up!
I'm about to start with my posts as well, yours was a great insight on what it's like to be around here for 30 days.
Its great when you can measure your own improvements by yourself isn't it?
cheers bud!

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. I'll come back and read your post once it's done.

Love seeing posts like this!! Really cool.
I am very much a stats kinda guy so i love numbers.

Keep in mind we are in early adopter stages of the site... meaning things will be very different when the masses come. Very different. So it's all about creating foundations now with strategy, connections with others and also this economic aspect of it all.

Yeah! I'm also kind of a numbers guy and I really enjoyed the other posts like this that I have seen, so I decided to include some of those same statistics in this post. I love strategizing and figuring out the best ways to use new platforms. In some ways I would describe myself as an internet enthusiastic.

You've answered a couple of questions I had, one about the 50/50. I'm just 30 days in myself and have not bothered to spend too much time understanding all of the details and wanted to just think about content for a bit, but I'm ready to look under the hood, thanks for the nudge.

Nice. Yeah the difference between 50/50 and 100 percent, wasn't really clear to me without some research and the help of other steemit users.

having read "Why did I join?" i think you'll like what i will post later on. you seem to be an adventurous man too.

i like to go outdoors with something backing me financially

Thanks! I'll check it out. I love the outdoors and any hobby that helps pay for adventures is fine by me. 😊

thinks to you to spread out in your experience , congratulation for30 Days on Steemit!

I learn in your experience

You are a shinning lumberjack and I'm a bit jealous of that in a good way and good job on your first month. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Welcome to Steemit! 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a essential to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55