Olympic Contrast

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5021.jpg

IMG_5332.jpg

The past few months I've been interested in how people present their photography. Presentation can be done in so many ways, and often with social media we see only a haphazard presentation. Sometimes it's chronological, other times it's algorithmic. However, every once in a while you run across a set of images that are presented in a way that makes you stop and think a little differently about the photos. For example, I really like the way photographer Brenton Clarke shares some of his photos on his Instagram: Example 1, Example 2. Another unique presentation that I enjoyed recently was by photographer Owen Perry on Steemit @circa1983 and his Marina Vignettes post.

The goal for tonight's post was to find two images from my trip to the Olympic Peninsula that complement each other in some way. I didn't shoot with this in mind so I could've done better, but I chose the photos above based on their contrasting elements. Photo one is primarily light colored with a dark center, and photo two is mostly dark with a light center. The colors are not identical, and the contrasting shape in the center is different, but I think they would look alright together if hung on the same wall.

What do you think?


Intro Post | Last Post (Vermilion Lakes + Mobile Editing Poll) | Instagram

Purchase my photos at Stocksy United. Stocksy United - Justin Mullet
Creating authentic outdoor and landscape photography primarily in the Western United States. Featuring a beautiful portfolio of stock photos that portray some of the earth's most peaceful and quiet areas, and portraying rural life at its best!

Sort:  

I think they work really well together 👌 both great shots

Thanks Jessica!

Both of these have such strong moods about them. Love it!

Thanks! I really liked the simplicity of both compositions, especially the first one of the ocean.

Both are minimalistic and impressive. They go well together and "highlight" that the focus is in the center on purpose. I don't know how to explain it better (native Finnish), but you know, if you look them together you'll think that centering is the theme here..

Thank you for the feedback! I'm pleased to hear you say, "they go well together". I was hoping to find two that have something in common.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47